Balancing Act (Paperback)
  • Balancing Act (Paperback)
zoom

Balancing Act (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 432 Pages
Published: 20/11/2014
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket

Family and business, husbands and wives, parents and children. It's always a balancing act... In this emotional and thought-provoking novel, multi-million copy bestselling author Joanna Trollope expertly weaves a study of familial relationships with a lightness of tone and real sense of compassion. Fans of Elizabeth Noble, Erica James and Amanda Prowse will not be disappointed.

'To be relished.' -- The Times
'Joanna Trollope's evocations of human relationships are, as ever, penetrating and engaging.' -- Daily Express
'A joy to read' -- ***** Reader review
'A great read, very engrossing and hard to put down' -- ***** Reader review
'A real page-turner' -- ***** Reader review
'Sublime' -- ***** Reader review

********************************************************************************************

WHEN EVERYTHING YOU'VE WORKED TO ACHIEVE SUDDENLY FEELS PRECARIOUS, YOU'LL DO WHAT IT TAKES TO KEEP IT STABLE...

Four strong women. All working in a family business. But what happens when they begin to want different things? And what about the men - and the children - in their lives?

Susie Moran has always been the breadwinner in her family. Her husband was the one who was there for their three girls. But now he wants something of his past back - the life he had before Susie's career took off, before they had children. And those children don't see their mother's business the way she has always seen it, thereby threatening the balance she has worked so hard to achieve.

And then, amidst the simmering tensions, someone significant from the past, someone almost forgotten, turns up. The problems of the past, the present, and the future all become challenges to the stability of both family and work. Which relationships - if any - will survive?

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9780552778558
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 293 g
Dimensions: 198 x 127 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Trollope writes about family relationships with intelligence and clear-eyed sympathy, and the outcomes of this terrific novel are always believable as they are surprising. To be relished. * The Times *
Trollope is an extremely assured writer, with a brilliant eye for detail and a finely tuned emotional intelligence ... she writes absorbing, wise stories that dramatise the dilemmas we face. In Balancing Act, she has done it again. * Sunday Times *
Joanna Trollope, whose evocations of human relationships are as ever penetrating and engaging. * Daily Express *
With her compassion for her characters, Trollope cuts to the quick of family life, and the difference between men and women. I loved it. -- Fanny Blake * Woman & Home, Jan 14 *
Nobody writes about family tensions better than Joanna Trollope. * Good Housekeeping *

You may also be interested in...

Lessons in Chemistry
Added to basket
£16.99   £8.49
Hardback
The No-Show
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Someone Else's Shoes
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
Elektra
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Old Babes in the Wood
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Godmersham Park
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Cleopatra and Frankenstein
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Trees
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
It Starts With Us
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket

“Very enjoyable and engaging read”

Joanna Trollope at her best. The characters. their relationships and struggles with mixing family and business was very moving and the story really drew me in.

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 70
Bookread2day

“Another great story by Joanna Trollope”

I totall loved reading Balancing Act. A long time ago I bought a pretty box with a lovely design on that had a few of Joanna Trollope earlier books in. Since reading those books a long time ago Joanna Trollope has... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 46

“Good Read”

I was greatly surprised as to how much I enjoyed reading this novel. Joanna Trollope is certainly not an author I have read before but getting involved in the family running of the pottery business, and the family... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 37

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.