The Black Hunger (Paperback)
  • The Black Hunger (Paperback)
zoom

The Black Hunger (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 10/10/2024
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A gothic masterpiece and a devastating exploration of humanity's capacity for evil' Sunyi Dean, author of The Book Eaters

John Sackville will soon be dead. Shadows writhe in the corners of his cell as he mourns the death of his secret lover and the gnawing hunger inside him grows impossible to ignore.

He must write his last testament before it is too late.

It is a story steeped in history and myth - a journey from stone circles in Scotland, to the barren wilderness of Ukraine where otherworldly creatures stalk the night, ending in the icy peaks of Tibet and Mongolia, where an ancient evil stirs . .

A spine-tingling, queer gothic horror debut where two men are drawn into an otherworldly spiral, and a journey that will only end when they reach the darkest part of the human soul. Perfect for fans of The Historian and Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.

Praise for The Black Hunger:

'The Black Hunger is a phenomenal book full of rich historical detail, occult mysticism, and slow, creeping horror. . . a triumph' Thomas D. Lee, author of Perilous Times

'A new dark classic to stand alongside Frankenstein and Jekyll & Hyde, The Black Hunger reveals its horrors inch by devastating inch, leading the reader from the foothills of the Himalayas to the Scottish Islands and back again' Molly O'Neill, author of Greenteeth

'Rich in historical detail, poignant romance, sweeping adventure, and visceral terror, The Black Hunger is both utterly original and thrillingly addictive' Jennifer Thorne, author of Diavola

'A terrifying gothic journey to the place where the very cruellest, hungriest creatures hide in the snow, and wear our faces. This is a magisterial debut' Michael Rowe, author of Wild Fell

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356522180
Number of pages: 416
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

The Black Hunger is a stunning historical horror novel that recalls the work of Elizabeth Kostova and the best of Dan Simmons' Victorian supernatural fiction. With painterly prose, Pullen takes the reader on a terrifying gothic journey to the place where the very cruellest, hungriest creatures hide in the snow, and wear our faces. This is a magisterial debut by a major new voice in contemporary dark fantasy - Michael Rowe, author of WILD FELL

The Black Hunger is a phenomenal book full of rich historical detail, occult mysticism, and slow, creeping horror. Pullen has written a compelling queer love story that takes the reader firmly by the hand and leads them from Oxford to the Himalayas, through 1920s diplomatic intrigue and esoteric Buddhist spiritualism, all the way to war-torn Russia and the distant steppes of Siberia. Redolent of Arthur Conan Doyle and H. P. Lovecraft, The Black Hunger is a triumph that should be on your reading list - Thomas D. Lee, author of PERILOUS TIMES

Rich in historical detail, poignant romance, sweeping adventure, and visceral terror, The Black Hunger is both utterly original and thrillingly addictive - Jennifer Thorne, author of DIAVOLA

A new dark classic to stand alongside Frankenstein and Jekyll & Hyde, The Black Hunger reveals its horrors inch by devastating inch, leading the reader from the foothills of the Himalayas to the Scottish Islands and back again - Molly O'Neill, author of GREENTEETH

A gothic masterpiece and a devastating exploration of humanity's capacity for evil - Sunyi Dean, author of The Book Eaters

You may also be interested in...

The Three-Body Problem
Added to basket
Spectacular
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
Witchcraft for Wayward Girls
Added to basket
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Ink Blood Sister Scribe
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Ministry of Time
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Lady Macbeth
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Throne of Secrets
Added to basket
Queen B
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Wind and Truth
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: