The Combat Codes - The Combat Codes (Paperback)
  • The Combat Codes - The Combat Codes (Paperback)
zoom

The Combat Codes - The Combat Codes (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 448 Pages
Published: 15/06/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The Combat Codes is set in a far future world where the fate of nations is determined by single combat at the hands of famed warriors.

Perfect for fans of action-driven science fiction, martial arts stories and LitRPG novels, this debut novel, the first in a trilogy, has fans ranging from award-winning fantasy authors to trophy-winning UFC fighters!

Hundreds of years ago on a planet once ravaged by war, the nations swore an armistice never to use weapons of mass destruction again. Today, battle-hardened warriors known as Grievar Knights train to represent their nations' interests in brutal hand-to-hand combat.

Murray Pearson was once a famed Knight until he suffered a loss that crippled his nation - but now he's on the hunt to find and train the next champion.

Below, in the Underground's brutal combat rings, an orphaned boy called Cego is making a name for himself. Murray believes he has what it takes to make it in the planet's most prestigious combat school - but he has to fight his way out of the Underground first.

'A brutal and relentless science fantasy martial arts extravaganza, set in a world where the fate of nations rests on the perfect counterpunch or rear naked choke. The Combat Codes is that rare book that fully satisfies me as an action fan'
Fonda Lee, author of Jade City

'The Combat Codes by Alexander Darwin is a chimera blending Science Fiction and Fantasy to tell a vividly-realized tale both focused and sprawling. It's a book about warriors written by a master of the martial arts, and the mastery shows. In its pages, expect to explore power, politics, and brutal violence, but I repeat myself'
Evan Winter, author of The Rage of Dragons

'This book kicks ass--literally and literarily!'
Richard Swan, author of The Justice of Kings

'If Mike Tyson wrote a sci-fi novel (and could write like he threw a right hook) it would read a little like The Combat Codes. Bare-knuckle brilliance'
Jackson Ford, author of The Girl Who Could Move Sh*t with Her Mind

'The Combat Codes was a fantastic read that takes you along the martial arts path of self-discovery. The storyline, training, fights and philosophy in the book made it highly enjoyable. Whether you are a martial artist, fan, or just an SFF reader, this book will be a lot of fun'
Kenny Florian, MMA Commentator and Ex-UFC Fighter

'The Combat Codes is combat as it was meant to be written: raw but elegant, a blend of the poet's wordsmithing and the martial art master's technical expertise. Better yet, it's a fun, heartfelt story about the underprivileged banding together to rise up. A fantastic reading experience'
Moses Ose Utomi, author of The Lies of Ajungo

'The Combat Codes is a well-paced sci-fi brimming with action, brutality, thoughtfulness and heart. From ruthless underworld to storm-harried, glistening academy, every fight is clear and visceral, and I couldn't help but be ensnared by the mystery and tension woven throughout. I can't wait for the next chapter in Cego's journey!'
H. M. Long, author of Hall of Smoke

'The Combat Codes is a perfectly balanced cocktail of high-octane action, enthralling mystery, and genuine heart. Fans of Geralt and Ciri or the Hound and Arya will adore the dynamic between Murray and Cego, and fans of badass fight scenes will find plenty to love in these pages. A gritty, fully-realized world sets the stage for lovable (and hateable) characters, heart-pounding action, and twists that literally had my jaw dropping. Readers won't want to miss this one!'
M. J. Kuhn, author of Among Thieves

'The Combat Codes is a great read for any fan of realistic martial arts fiction. The integration of a compelling sci-fi / fantasy plot and true-to-life martial arts action make for a unique story that any student of warfare is sure to enjoy'
Ryan Hall, UFC Fighter

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356521497
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A brutal and relentless science fantasy martial arts extravaganza, set in a world where the fate of nations rests on the perfect counterpunch or rear naked choke. The Combat Codes is that rare book that fully satisfies me as an action fan - Fonda Lee, author of Jade City

The Combat Codes is a great read for any fan of realistic martial arts fiction. The integration of a compelling sci-fi / fantasy plot and true-to-life martial arts action make for a unique story that any student of warfare is sure to enjoy - Ryan Hall, UFC Fighter

This book kicks ass--literally and literarily! - Richard Swan, author of The Justice of Kings

The Combat Codes by Alexander Darwin is a chimera blending Science Fiction and Fantasy to tell a vividly-realized tale both focused and sprawling. It's a book about warriors written by a master of the martial arts, and the mastery shows. In its pages, expect to explore power, politics, and brutal violence, but I repeat myself - Evan Winter, author of The Rage of Dragons

If Mike Tyson wrote a scifi novel (and could write like he threw a right hook) it would read a little like The Combat Codes. Bare-knuckle brilliance - Jackson Ford author of The Girl Who Could Move Sh*t With Her Mind

The Combat Codes was a fantastic read that takes you along the martial arts path of self-discovery. The storyline, training, fights and philosophy in the book made it highly enjoyable. Whether you are a martial artist, fan, or just an SFF reader, this book will be a lot of fun - Kenny Florian, MMA Commentator & Ex-UFC Fighter

The Combat Codes is a well-paced sci-fi brimming with action, brutality, thoughtfulness and heart. From ruthless underworld to storm-harried, glistening academy, every fight is clear and visceral, and I couldn't help but be ensnared by the mystery and tension woven throughout. I can't wait for the next chapter in Cego's journey! - H.M. Long, author of Hall of Smoke

The Combat Codes is a perfectly balanced cocktail of high-octane action, enthralling mystery, and genuine heart. Fans of Geralt and Ciri or the Hound and Arya will adore the dynamic between Murray and Cego, and fans of badass fight scenes will find plenty to love in these pages. A gritty, fully-realized world sets the stage for lovable (and hateable) characters, heart-pounding action, and twists that literally had my jaw dropping. Readers won't want to miss this one! - M. J. Kuhn, author of Among Thieves

The Combat Codes is combat as it was meant to be written: raw but elegant, a blend of the poet's wordsmithing and the martial art master's technical expertise. Better yet, it's a fun, heartfelt story about the underprivileged banding together to rise up. A fantastic reading experience - Moses Ose Utomi, author of The Lies of Ajungo

You may also be interested in...

The Goodbye Cat
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
A Day of Fallen Night
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Black Bird Oracle
Added to basket
Spectacular
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Stone Blind
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Holly
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
The City of Stardust
Added to basket
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Familiar
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Caraval
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Sympathetic characters, vivid fights and intriguing world...”

For those of you interested in such things, The Combat Codes was an award nominee in the prestigious SPFBO (Self-Published Fantasy Blog Off) Competition 2020. Books that do well there frequently go on to be picked up... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A Captivating Journey of Honor, Redemption, and Secrets”

I received an advance review copy for free and am leaving this review voluntarily. I liked the book enough to buy it on Kindle.

Set in a world where nations settle their wars through single combat, our protagonist... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: