The Daughters of Izdihar - The Alamaxa Duology (Paperback)
  • The Daughters of Izdihar - The Alamaxa Duology (Paperback)
zoom

The Daughters of Izdihar - The Alamaxa Duology (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 12/01/2023
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A gorgeous, clever feminist fantasy novel rich with magic, politics, hunger and fire. An absolute must-read' Tasha Suri, author of The Jasmine Throne

Trapped in an arranged marriage to a man she does not love, Nehal dreams of attending the Weaving Academy. There, she can take control of her powers, bending any water to her will, and pursue a glorious future on the battlefield with the first all-female military regiment. Her husband, indifferent and secretive, is in love with another woman, a poor bookseller named Giorgina.

Giorgina has her own secret. She is an earthweaver with dangerously uncontrollable powers. Her only solace comes from meetings with the Daughters of Izdihar, a women's rights group fighting for freedom. They come from very different means, yet Nehal and Giorgina have more in common than they think.

Enticed by the group's enigmatic leader Malak Mamdouh, the two women are drawn into a web of politics, violence and threats of war as they find themselves fighting to earn - and keep - a lasting freedom.

A powerful feminist fantasy set in an Egyptian-inspired world, with breathtaking elemental magic and sapphic romance, perfect for fans of The Jasmine Throne and The Once and Future Witches.

Praise for The Daughters of Izdihar:

'Hadeer Elsbai has written a powerful story of sisterhood, love, and struggle within a rich, vibrant world with complicated characters that leap from the page to smash the patriarchy!' P. Djèlí Clark, author of A Master of Djinn

'A wondrously rich fantasy that highlights the true struggle to revolutionize a society. . . a debut not to be missed' Shannon Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass

'Action-packed, magic-filled, and led by two fierce, vividly-rendered women, The Daughters of Izdihar is a compelling and empowering debut' Ava Reid, author of Juniper and Thorn

'A thrilling tale of two women's fight for rights in their patriarchal society, peppered with elemental magic, politics, and a relentless desire for that which is wrongly forbidden.' Andrea Stewart, author of The Bone Shard Daughter

'A powerful fantasy novel filled with clever magic, intriguing politics, and compelling characters who forge a path toward justice, no matter the obstacle' Chelsea Abdullah, author of The Stardust Thief

'An absolutely enthralling tale of two women striving for a better world' Sarah Beth Durst, author of The Queen of Blood

'Magnificent, complex, compelling' Davinia Evans, author of Notorious Sorcerer

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356520476
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 273 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

The Daughters of Izdihar is a thrilling tale of two women's fight for rights in their patriarchal society, peppered with elemental magic, politics, and a relentless desire for that which is wrongly forbidden. - Andrea Stewart, author THE BONE SHARD DAUGHTER

Magnificent, complex, compelling - Davinia Evans, author of NOTORIOUS SORCERER

A gorgeous, clever feminist fantasy novel rich with magic, politics, hunger and fire. An absolute must-read - Tasha Suri, author of THE JASMINE THRONE

A powerful fantasy novel filled with clever magic, intriguing politics, and compelling characters who forge a path toward justice, no matter the obstacle - Chelsea Abdullah, author of THE STARDUST THIEF

Action-packed, magic-filled, and led by two fierce, vividly-rendered women, The Daughters of Izdihar is a compelling and empowering debut - Ava Reid, author of JUNIPER AND THORN

A wondrously rich fantasy that highlights the true struggle to revolutionize a society. You will cheer and mourn alongside Nehal and Giorgina as they dare to discover new magic, fight for a more just society, and find love in unexpected places. A debut not to be missed! - Shannon Chakraborty

Hadeer Elsbai has written a powerful story of sisterhood, love, and struggle within a rich, vibrant world with complicated characters that leap from the page to smash the patriarchy! - P. Djèlí Clark, author of A MASTER OF DJINN

An absolutely enthralling tale of two women striving for a better world. Filled with magic and politics, THE DAUGHTERS OF IZDIHAR grips you and doesn't let go - Sarah Beth Durst

You may also be interested in...

Katabasis
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
All The Devils
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi
Added to basket
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Spectacular
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Book of Elsewhere
Added to basket
Lady Macbeth
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Queen B
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Tress of the Emerald Sea
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries
Added to basket
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
Wind and Truth
Added to basket
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
Milica S.

“HELLO FEMALE RAGE LOVERS, DO I HAVE THE PERFECT BOOK FOR YOU!”

The Daughters of Izdihar is a feminist fantasy. That's it. Read it now. NOW I SAY.

We follow two PoVs, that of Nehal (our resident angry girl) and Giorgina (Nehal's complete opposite). Both of these girls... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6
Neil Sharma

“A powerful fantasy novel”

The Daughters of Izdihar is a tale of conflict, tradition against non-traditionalism, and the right to equality against the menacing tentacles of power and politics. It is the tale of women fighting for equality in a... More

Paperback edition
9 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A fresh and fun read!”

Before I get started, I'd like to say thank you to both to NetGalley and Little Brown, Orbit for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Have you ever heard of "lightning in a bottle"? Or it may be... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: