Ts&Cs apply
Kaikeyi (Paperback)
  • Kaikeyi (Paperback)
zoom

Kaikeyi (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 528 Pages
Published: 27/10/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Madeline Miller and Jennifer Saint, Patel's luminous reimagining of the Indian epic Ramayana finds an oppressed princess transform herself into a warrior in order to fight for the women of her realm.

An instant New York Times bestseller and Tiktok sensation, Vaishnavi Patel's stunning debut Kaikeyi reimagines the life of the infamous queen from Indian epic the Ramayana...

The only daughter of a king, Kaikeyi watches as her mother is banished and her own worth is reduced to what marriage alliance she can secure. Although she was raised on stories of the might and benevolence of the gods, her prayers for help go unanswered. She turns to her mother's library and discovers a magic that is hers alone. With this power, Kaikeyi transforms herself from an overlooked princess into a warrior, diplomat and favoured queen, determined to carve a better world for herself and the women around her.

But when evils from her childhood stories threaten her world, the path she has forged clashes with the destiny the gods have chosen for her family. Kaikeyi must decide if resistance is worth the destruction it will wreak - and what legacy she intends to leave behind.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356520193
Number of pages: 528
Weight: 360 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 36 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Circe
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Pachinko
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Mythos
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Book Thief
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Wolf Hall
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Silence of the Girls
Added to basket
The Pillars of the Earth
Added to basket
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Thousand Ships
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Miniaturist
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Fingersmith
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Imperium
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Familiars
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
How We Disappeared
Added to basket
Millie Slingsby

“a fascinating journey through a fascinating character's life”

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with a free eARC in exchange for an honest review!

I would like to start off with a disclaimer that this is a retelling based off a religious text that is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“well written”

Kaikeyi retells the story of Rama ( an avatar of the Hindu God Lord Vishnu) from the Ramayana from the first-person point of view of Kaikeyi, Rama’s stepmother. In the original story, Kaikeyi asks her husband to exile... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“Fantastic!”

India, myths-legends, royalty, historical-novel, historical-research, history-and-culture, cultural-exploration, cultural-heritage, family, family-dynamics, friction*****

This story is representative of the mythos of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: