The Sword Defiant - Lands of the Firstborn (Paperback)
  • The Sword Defiant - Lands of the Firstborn (Paperback)
zoom

The Sword Defiant - Lands of the Firstborn (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 576 Pages
Published: 04/05/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Hanrahan's outstanding first outing in the Lands of the Firstborn series will thrill fantasy readers' Booklist, starred review

THE SWORD CARES NOT WHO IT CUTS

Many years ago, Sir Aelfric and his nine companions saved the world, seizing the Dark Lord's cursed weapons, along with his dread city of Necrad. That was the easy part.

Now, when Aelfric - keeper of the cursed sword Spellbreaker - learns of a new and terrifying threat, he seeks the nine heroes once again. But they are wandering adventurers no longer. Yesterday's eager heroes are today's weary leaders - and some have turned to the darkness, becoming monsters themselves.

If there's one thing Aelfric knows, it's slaying monsters. Even if they used to be his friends.

Set in a world of dark myth and dangerous prophecy, The Sword Defiant launches an epic tale of daring warriors, living weapons and bloodthirsty vengeance.

'The front runner for my book of the year . . . The Sword Defiant is a love letter to roleplaying games, to Tolkien, to what epic fantasy has been about for me through my whole life. I adored this book from the first page to the last. Hanrahan has taken the best of the old, the best of the last two decades, and then brought it screaming into the modern era. Fans of Gemmell and Abercrombie need this on their shelves'
Ed McDonald, author of Blackwing

'Both a love letter and evolution of the epic fantasy novel . . . The Sword Defiant is an epic tale of how no world stands still forever . . . Highly recommended!
Run Along the Shelves

'Hanrahan is one of the best in the business at creating fantasy worlds that feel alive . . . I'll read any book that Gareth Hanrahan writes'
The Fantasy Inn

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356516530
Number of pages: 576
Weight: 380 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

The front runner for my book of the year . . . The Sword Defiant is a love letter to roleplaying games, to Tolkien, to what epic fantasy has been about for me through my whole life. I adored this book from the first page to the last. Hanrahan has taken the best of the old, the best of the last two decades, and then brought it screaming into the modern era. Fans of Gemmell and Abercrombie need this on their shelves. - Ed McDonald, author of BLACKWING

Hanrahan's outstanding first outing in the Lands of the Firstborn series will thrill fantasy readers - BOOKLIST (starred review)

A gloriously gritty adventure through Hanrahan's astonishing imagination - Peter McLean, author of PRIEST OF BONES

Hanrahan's RPG roots are clear, but it's the incredible depth of his imagination that make his world and story unique. He takes traditional characters and settings, throws in his own unique and monstrous creations and builds something completely fresh. Simultaneously familiar and completely original, The Sword Defiant is a treat for all fantasy fans, and especially for RPG players. It's an absolute blast. - Justin Lee Anderson, author of THE LOST WAR

I loved every page. With The Sword Defiant, Hanrahan takes all of my favourite fantasy tropes and infuses them with creativity and vigour. The characters were unforgettable. Best of all, by the final page, I felt like I'd been on a true adventure - Brian Naslund, author of BLOOD OF AN EXILE

A slow-burning epic of faith and betrayal that explores what happens to heroes when the adventures are over and the lines between good and evil are no longer so clear-cut . . . This novel has the potential to become a fan-favourite among those who appreciate vast and eloquent epic fantasy. Readers will enjoy the unique twists, absorbing intrigue and endearing characters - LIBRARY JOURNAL

In the tradition of Tolkien and Eddings, with a richly detailed narrative, well-drawn characters, epic battles, and political and religious intrigues, Hanrahan's outstanding first outing in the Lands of the Firstborn series will thrill fantasy readers - who will anxiously await the next book - BOOKLIST

Gritty and rousing . . . Hanrahan creates fully realized environments with rich histories - BOOKPAGE (starred review)

Hanrahan is one of the best in the business at creating fantasy worlds that feel alive . . . It's a world that takes familiar fantasy archetypes, and turns them into cool characters with big personalities . . . I'll say it again - I'll read any book that Gareth Hanrahan writes - THE FANTASY INN

Both a love letter and evolution of the epic fantasy novel . . . The Sword Defiant is an epic tale of how no world stands still forever . . . Highly recommended! - RUN ALONG THE SHELVES

Hanrahan is a stellar world builder . . . I tore through The Sword Defiant in a few sittings despite its enormous size. The plot and world are exciting and beg to be explored . . . It is a fever dream adventure fantasy that begs you to take a look at it - THE QUILL TO LIVE

You may also be interested in...

House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Katabasis
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Familiar
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Throne of Secrets
Added to basket
House of Flame and Shadow
Added to basket
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
The City of Stardust
Added to basket
Lady Macbeth
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Spectacular
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Before We Say Goodbye
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Milica S.

“I'm an Alf girl for life”

I cried during the first and last chapter of the book (and a few times in between), that's probably all you need to know about how fast I got attached to the characters. I was honestly not expecting that to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“The Sword Maketh the Man?”

Fifteen years after our heroes The Nine defeated Lord Bone everything appears to be settled, but our protagonist Alf has left the city and is drawn to find his former friend who warns him that an evil is rising... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
Richard Hayden in Rye

“Cutting Edge”

It is not a stretch to say that the influence of JRR Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings upon the rest of fantasy literature can barely be calculated. However, it is typically in the form of pastiche, parody or outright... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: