Winter's Orbit (Paperback)
  • Winter's Orbit (Paperback)
zoom

Winter's Orbit (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 448 Pages
Published: 04/02/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A chilling account of a dark past wrapped in the warm blanket of a promising future . . . A pleasure to read' Ann Leckie

'Sparks fly' NPR

'A stunning new space opera debut' K. B. Wagers

The Iskat Empire rules its vassal planets through a system of treaties - so when Prince Taam, key figure in a political alliance, is killed, a replacement must be found. His widower, Jainan, is rushed into an arranged marriage with the disreputable aristocrat Kiem, in a bid to keep rising hostilities between two worlds under control. But Prince Taam's death may not have been an accident, and when Jainan himself is a suspect, he and Kiem must navigate the perils of the Iskat court, solve a murder, and prevent an interplanetary war . . .

***Winner of an ALA Alex Award***
***Sunday Times bestseller***

'Has everything you could ask: impossible choices, divided loyalties, dry wit . . . charming slow-burn romance, and an adventure in space politics' A. K. Larkwood

'High-pitched noises escaped me; I shouted, more than once, 'Now kiss!'...in a world so relentlessly uncertain, there's a powerfully simple pleasure in the experience of a promise kept' The New York Times Book Review

'Dazzling . . . Its characters stayed with me long after I raced through the last chapters' Aliette de Boddard

Everina Maxwell's debut is a space opera with high-stakes multi-world politics and irresistibly engaging characters, perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth and The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet. An LGBTQ romance and Tiktok/Booktok sensation. Find the author on Twitter at @av_stories

From the same author:
OCEAN'S ECHO

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356515885
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Delightful! Winter's Orbit is a chilling account of a dark past wrapped in the warm blanket of a promising future. It was such a pleasure to readA captivating love story with engaging characters, wrapped around a murder mystery with high-stakes multi-world politics. Winter's Orbit reminds me in the best way of the Vorkosigan series by Lois McMaster Bujold. I can't wait to see what Maxwell does next!Everina Maxwell's writing has everything you could ask . . . I don't know how she's managed to write a book that's simultaneously an elegant comedy of manners, a charming slow-burn romance, and an adventure in space politics, but whatever her secret, I'm wildly enviousA dazzling and comforting story of galactic politics, healing and romance. Its characters stayed with me long after I raced through the last chapters

You may also be interested in...

Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries
Added to basket
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Dune Messiah
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Throne of Secrets
Added to basket
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Familiar
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Three-Body Problem
Added to basket
Katabasis
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Familiar
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Tress of the Emerald Sea
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket

“5 stars isn’t enough”

Winter’s Orbit has been on my radar for a while now and made it to the top of my most anticipated books of the year, due to its fantastic synopsis. It has been compared to the likes of Gideon the Ninth and The Long... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Space love story”

I was given an Advanced Reader Copy of this book by NetGalley in return for an honest review.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

At first I was a bit confused as it immediately pushes stereotypes - the emperor is a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

“The concept is brilliant”

"Winter's Orbit" is a romantic sci-fi novel with elements of mystery. The concept is brilliant, the writing is flawless, and the characters are constructed well - as is the world this book is set in. It... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: