Velocity Weapon: Book One of The Protectorate - The Protectorate (Paperback)
  • Velocity Weapon: Book One of The Protectorate - The Protectorate (Paperback)
zoom

Velocity Weapon: Book One of The Protectorate - The Protectorate (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 544 Pages / Published: 13/06/2019
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A brilliantly plotted yarn of survival and far-future political intrigue' Guardian

***SHORTLISTED FOR THE PHILIP K. DICK AWARD***

The last thing Sanda remembers is her gunship exploding.

She expected to be recovered by salvage-medics and to awaken in friendly hands, patched-up and ready to rejoin the fight. Instead she wakes up 230 years later, on a deserted enemy starship called The Light of Berossus - or, as he prefers to call himself, 'Bero'.

Bero tells Sanda the war is lost. That the entire star system is dead.

But is that the full story? After all, in the vastness of space, anything is possible . . .

Dazzling space battles, deadly galactic politics and rogue AI collide in Velocity Weapon, an epic space opera from award-winning author Megan E. O'Keefe.

Praise for Velocity Weapon

'An entertaining SF thriller' SciFiNow

'Furious action sequences, funny dialogue, and a plot that will keep you guessing every step of the way' K. B. Wagers

'Velocity Weapon is fast-paced, twisty, edge-of-your-seat fun. Space opera fans are in for a massive treat!'
Marina J. Lostetter

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356512228
Number of pages: 544
Weight: 360 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A brilliantly plotted yarn of survival and far-future political intrigue * Guardian *
A complicated, thoughtful tale that skillfully interweaves intrigue, action, and strong characterization * Publishers Weekly *

Full of twists, feints, and deception, O'Keefe's latest presents a visionary world rife with
political intrigue and space adventure

* Booklist - starred review *
A well-written tale of space adventure, underhanded political dealings and AI rights all wrapped up in a fast-paced plot and a well-thought-out world. A must-read for fans of James S. A. Corey and Alastair Reynolds * Bookbag *
Meticulously plotted, edge-of-your-seat space opera with a soul; a highly promising science-fiction debut * Kirkus *
O'Keefe keeps the pace pumping, timing the big twists perfectly * SFX *
An entertaining SF thriller * SciFiNow *
A mix of space opera action and interplanetary political shenanigans, Velocity Weapon is a good match for readers of John Scalzi * Omnivoracious/Amazon Book Review *
A great premise, compelling plot, and engaging cast of characters . . . from an author worth keeping an eye on * Amazing Stories *
The twists come fast and furious . . . This one shouldn't be overlooked * B&N Scifi & Fantasy Blog *

You may also be interested in...

If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sensor
Added to basket
£15.99
Hardback
Dune Messiah
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Fahrenheit 451
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Ninth House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
A Deadly Education
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Kingdom of the Cursed
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Dune
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
The Last House on Needless Street
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dune
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Six Crimson Cranes
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The House in the Cerulean Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mordew
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Rapid mechanical contrivance”

I rushed apace into this book, eagerly anticipating space-faring, crash-bangy things with complex characters. So I totally overlooked that it is "Book One". SO .. about half way in as the unfolding drama... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 30
Blue Book Balloon

“High velocity space opera”

"The last thing Sanda remembers is her gunship exploding..."

I'm grateful to Orbit for a free advance copy of Velocity Weapon.

Debut author O'Keefe's novel is a proper serving of space opera... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.