The Light of the Midnight Stars (Paperback)
  • The Light of the Midnight Stars (Paperback)
zoom

The Light of the Midnight Stars (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 20/01/2022
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

A SPELLBINDING TALE OF LOVE AND LOSS, SISTERHOOD AND THE TANGLED THREADS OF FATE.

'Blending folktale with history, hope with tragedy, its touch will linger on your heart long after you put it down' Marie Brennan, author of the Memoirs of Lady Trent series

This is how a fairy tale begins . . .

Deep in the Hungarian woods, the sacred magic of King Solomon lives on in his descendants. Gathering under the midnight stars, they perform small miracles and none are more gifted than the great Rabbi Isaac and his three daughters.

Hannah, bookish and calm, can coax plants to grow even when the weather is bitterly cold. Sarah, defiant and strong, can control the impulsive nature of fire. And Levana, the fey one, can read the path of the stars to decipher their secrets.

But darkness is creeping across Europe, threatening the lives of every Jewish person in every village. Each sister will have to make an impossible choice in an effort to survive - and change the fate of their family forever.

Enter a magical world of secrets, family ties and fairy tales weaving through history . . . perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale and Spinning Silver.

'The Light of the Midnight Stars is storytelling as spellcasting. Rossner has conjured something vivid and wild and true' Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Mercies

'Rossner creates a lush, immersive world . . . The result is as lovely as it is heartbreaking' Publishers Weekly

'Rossner's tale is as lyrical as the slow growth of roots, the quick dance of fire, and the stately procession of the stars.
Blending folktale with history, hope with tragedy, its touch will linger on your heart long after you put it down' Marie Brennan, author of the Memoirs of Lady Trent series

'A welcome tribute to Jewish resilience in the face of oppression, imbued with elemental magic, folkloric traditions, and the transcendent power of love' Jordanna Max Brodsky, author of The Wolf in the Whale

Other novels by Rena Rossner:
The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356511498
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 41 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Highly recommended for lovers of Naomi Novik's Spinning Silver and her 'Scholomance' series, as well as readers who enjoy their fantasy steeped in myths from infrequently represented people and places * LIBRARY JOURNAL *
The Light of the Midnight Stars is storytelling as spellcasting. Rossner has conjured something vivid and wild and true -- Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of THE MERCIES
Rossner's tale is as lyrical as the slow growth of roots, the quick dance of fire, and the stately procession of the stars. Blending folktale with history, hope with tragedy, its touch will linger on your heart long after you put it down -- Marie Brennan, author of the Memoirs of Lady Trent series
Rossner creates a lush, immersive world . . . The result is as lovely as it is heartbreaking -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
Rossner has crafted a masterful tale blending Jewish mysticism, fairy tales, and history in this story about three girls who wield the sacred magic of King Solomon's descendants ... This spectacular coming-of-age story shows the evolution that each of the sisters moves through to find their ending -- BOOKLIST
A welcome tribute to Jewish resilience in the face of oppression, imbued with elemental magic, folkloric traditions, and the transcendent power of love -- Jordanna Max Brodsky, author of THE WOLF IN THE WHALE
There are princes and princess es aplen ty in Rena Rossner's new fan ta sy nov el, The Light of the Mid night Stars, and enough of the fan tas ti cal to sat is fy the most ardent Grimm fan . . . Read ers will feel a con nec tion to the time and place, as it serves as a con stant reminder of what we fight for dai ly - free dom to be our selves and to choose our own destinies * JEWISH BOOK COUNCIL *

You may also be interested in...

Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
Blood of Elves
Added to basket
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Once and Future Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Empire of the Vampire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Alice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Mordew
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Once Upon a Broken Heart
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Ninth House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dan at Cribbs Causeway Store

“Look up to those shining stars....”

Hidden away, deep in the Hungarian woods is the sacred and magical Kingdom of King Solomon passed down to his descendants.
When the midnight stars shine bright, they gather and perform ancient rituals and small... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Magical history”

Having previously read 'The Sisters of the Winter Wood', I came to this book expecting the same magical elements. Yes, there is magic, but it seems darker. Once again The author is telling us stories of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Beautifully Written; A Book That Blends History & Folklore Magically”

‘Three sisters. Three paths. Three stars venturing out, away from the cluster they belong to.’

From the very first page of ‘The Light Of The Midnight Stars’ I was utterly blown away by it’s beautiful writing and knew... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.