A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World (Paperback)
  • A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World (Paperback)
zoom

A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 22/08/2019
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

THE MOST POWERFUL STORY YOU'LL READ THIS YEAR.

'Fletcher's suspenseful, atmospheric tale imagines a near future in which our world is in ruins . . . an adventure saga punctured by a gut-punch twist'
Entertainment Weekly

'You'll remember A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World long after you finish reading'
Peng Shepherd, author of The Book Of M

'Truly engrossing . . . brings hope and humanity to a cold and scary world'
Keith Stuart, author of A Boy Made of Blocks

'I promise you're going to love it'
Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches

'Epic in scope, enthralling, and full of human warmth'
M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts

THE WORLD HAS ENDED. AT LEAST WE STILL HAVE DOGS.

My name's Griz.
I've never been to school, I've never had friends, in my whole life I've not met enough people to play a game of football. My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, before all the people went away, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.
Then the thief came.
He told stories of the deserted towns and cities beyond our horizons. I liked him - until I woke to find he had stolen my dog. So I chased him out into the ruins of the world.
I just want to get my dog back, but I found more than I ever imagined was possible. More about how the world ended. More about what my family's real story is. More about what really matters.

'This un-put-down-able story has everything - a well-imagined post-apocalyptic world, great characters, incredible suspense, and, of course, the fierce love of some very good dogs'
Kirkus (starred review)

'A story that is as heart-warming as it is heart-breaking'
Fantasy Hive

'A stunningly gorgeous read: masterful storytelling, searingly beautiful prose, and a world so meticulously rendered you'll forget there's a real one going on beyond the pages. A book of the year contender - in any year'
Micah Yongo

'Extraordinary and quite magnificent . . . 10/10'
Starburst

A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World is the most moving apocalypse story you'll ever read. Perfect for readers of Life of Pi, The Girl with all the Gifts or Station Eleven - Griz's tale mixes sadness and hope in one unforgettable character's quest amid the remnants of our fragile civilisation.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356510934
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Fletcher's suspenseful, atmospheric tale imagines a near future in which our world is in ruins... An adventure saga punctured by a gut-punch twist -- ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY
Epic in scope, enthralling, and full of human warmth
This novel has everything I love about a story: fully realised characters, beautiful writing, and utterly believable, even frightening, world-building . . . I promise you're going to love it -- Louisa Morgan, author of A SECRET HISTORY OF WITCHES
A story that is as heart-warming as it is heart-breaking . . . I'm still thinking about this book, weeks after finishing it -- FANTASY HIVE
Family, loyalty, and humanity amid the lonely but beautiful wilderness of the end of the world - with a gut punch you'll never see coming. That twist! That ending! You'll remember A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World long after you finish reading -- Peng Shepherd, author of THE BOOK OF M
Extraordinary and quite magnificent . . . 10/10 -- STARBURST
A stunningly gorgeous read: masterful storytelling, searingly beautiful prose, and a world so meticulously rendered you'll forget there's a real one going on beyond the pages ... A book of the year contender - in any year -- Micah Yongo
Playful, twisty, thought provoking and hugely enjoyable -- RJ Barker
A truly engrossing survival story, which gives us a haunting vision of a ruined Britain that's both dangerous and strangely beautiful. But the real strength of the book its utterly believable lead character whose interplay of vulnerability and strength brings hope and humanity to a cold and scary world -- Keith Stuart, author of A BOY MADE OF BLOCKS
Fletcher does a masterful job keeping the stakes high and the suspense crackling while still creating plenty of space for readers to get to know Griz and explore this fascinating not-quite-empty world. This un-put-down-able story has everything-a well-imagined post-apocalyptic world, great characters, incredible suspense, and, of course, the fierce love of some very good dogs -- KIRKUS (starred review)
"Dogs were with us from the very beginning," says Griz in the first few pages. What happens in this novel will stay with you long past its end -- SHORELINE OF INFINITY

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
Winterkill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
The Giver of Stars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Such a Fun Age
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Compelling desolate apocalyptia”

A vividly-imagined and convincing post-humanity Britain, seen through the eyes of one of its last remaining inhabitants. 'Griz', is as compassionate and companionable a protagonist as you could hope for, as... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

“Fab Dystopian Novel”

Goodness me was this a tense book, one that I had to keep putting down so I could catch my breath! The author has asked specifically for nothing to be given away so this will be quite vague.
Poor Griz, his dog Jess is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11
Whispering Stories

“The book is extraordinary”

Just as the author requested at the beginning of the book, to keep reviews spoiler free, I will give you a short introduction into the book.

Griz lives with his parents, his brother Ferg, and his sister Bar, oh and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.