Fortune's Pawn: Book 1 of Paradox (Paperback)
  • Fortune's Pawn: Book 1 of Paradox (Paperback)
zoom

Fortune's Pawn: Book 1 of Paradox (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 06/02/2014
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Fans of Firefly and Elizabeth Moon will lap up this action-packed military science fiction series. Welcome to the start of a thrilling new space adventure, starring female mercenary Deviana Morris ...Deviana Morris isn't your average mercenary. She has plans. Big ones. And a ton of ambition. One of those is going to get her killed one day - but not just yet. Not when she just got a job on a tiny trade ship with a nasty reputation for surprises. The Glorious Fool isn't misnamed: it likes to get into trouble. And with a reputation for bad luck that makes one year as security detail on this ship equal to five years everywhere else - Devi knows she's found the perfect way to get the jump on the next part of her Plan. But the Fool doesn't give up its secrets without a fight, and one year might be more than even Devi can handle. Review for FORTUNE'S PAWN: 'This book kicked ass ...I just loved it!' - FELICIA DAY 'Devi is hands-down one of the best sci-fi heroines I've read in years' - RT BOOK REVIEWS 'Rollicking space opera starring a tough, sexy, armor-clad space chick ...[

Bach] does a nice job of painting a scenario that, if familiar - think the space marines of the Alien franchise or the motley crew of Firefly - allows her plenty of room for action. And action aplenty is what she delivers ...Lots of fun' - KIRKUS REVIEWS

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356502359
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 197 x 126 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

This book kicked ass ... I just loved it! Felicia Day Bach does a good job of showing she's not just an unfeeling, feisty fighting machine, but has flaws and vulnerabilities in a light, fast-action space opera adventure which combines romance and military set pieces in equal measure GUARDIAN A compelling story that grabs you quickly and pulls you in SFX If you liked Star Wars, if you like the Kate Daniels series, and if you are waiting for Guardians of the Galaxy to hit the theaters, this is your book Ilona Andrews Devi is hands-down one of the best sci-fi heroines I've read in a long time RT BOOK REVIEWS Rollicking space opera starring a tough, sexy, armor-clad space chick ... [Bach] does a nice job of painting a scenario that, if familiar - think the space marines of the Alien franchise or the motley crew of Firefly - allows her plenty of room for action. And action aplenty is what she delivers ... Lots of fun KIRKUS REVIEWS Part military space opera, part star-crossed romance, all page-turner WEEKEND HERALD (AUSTRALIA) It's not often I get to use the words stunning and spectacular and superb all in the same sentence for a novel, but Fortune's Pawn is a novel that deserves all those epithets and more THE FOUNDING FIELDS

You may also be interested in...

One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries
Added to basket
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Adventures of Amina Al-Sirafi
Added to basket
Spectacular
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Tress of the Emerald Sea
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Throne of Secrets
Added to basket
Katabasis
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Lady Macbeth
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Caraval
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Dune Messiah
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Three-Body Problem
Added to basket

“action-packed sci-fi fun”

Hugely entertaining action-packed space opera. This was a bit like reading an urban fantasy novel set in space with a fantastic no-nonsense ex-army heroine who names her weapons. If you like 'Firefly'... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: