The Circus Train (Paperback)
  • The Circus Train (Paperback)
zoom

The Circus Train (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 21/09/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Deftly mixing the magic of romance and theatrical glamour with the horrors of a continent torn apart by war, Parikh's intoxicating debut centres on the wheelchair-bound daughter of an illusionist and the unexpected love she experiences as part of a travelling circus that traverses Europe in a luxury steam engine.

Europe, 1938. Even as the daughter of the extraordinary headlining illusionist, Lena Papadopoulos has never quite found her place within the World of Wonders - a travelling circus that traverses the continent in a luxury steam engine. Brilliant and curious, Lena yearns for the real-world magic of science and medicine, despite the limitations she feels in her wheelchair. But when a young French orphan, Alexandre, comes aboard the circus train, Lena's life is infused with magic and wonder for the first time.

But outside the bright lights of the circus, darkness is descending on Europe. War is about to shatter Lena's world, and take away everything she holds dear. And to recover what she has lost, Lena will have to believe in the impossible.

A must-read for fans of Water for Elephants, The Circus Train will take readers on a heart-wrenching two-decade journey across a continent in which great beauty and unimaginable horror live side by side.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349994123
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A magical, vibrant parade of a novel about extraordinary people finding light in history's darkest decades. Spellbinding stuff - Erin Kelly, author of HE SAID SHE SAID

Intricately plotted with a rich cast of characters, The Circus Train is a compelling story of magic and survival against the odds. - SUNDAY TIMES

An enchanting story of love, loss and survival in a world wrecked by war - Eithne Farry, MAIL ON SUNDAY

Impeccably researched . . .The Circus Train is unashamedly romantic, but Parikh is never mawkish. Lena is an intelligent, feisty heroine and her rite of passage is compelling. In the end, this is an uplifting read and a welcome escape from our turbulent times. - Lucy Popescu, GUARDIAN

Lucinda Riley fans will love this heartwarming novel . . . a story full of hope and bravery - Nina Pottell, PRIMA

A gorgeous debut, full of wonder, hope and heartbreak - WOMAN'S WEEKLY

Parikh's storytelling skills evoke the world of duplicity and desperation lying behind the scenes of circus dazzle. Thorough research adds a further note of welcome authenticity. A compelling story of love, loss, betrayal and deceit overshadowed by the threat of World War II. - Fanny Blake, DAILY MAIL

Utterly absorbing - Heidi Swain, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE WINTER GARDEN

Step onto The Circus Train and prepare for a fantastical journey back in time, to another world with vibrant characters that leap from the page. I read The Circus Train in just two sittings, immersed in Lena's world, fascinated by the historical details that the author cleverly weaves through the plot. Highly recommended if you love historical fiction with a touch of heart-warming and magical romance, or if you crave a huge dose of adventure. - Louise Morrish, author of OPERATION MOONLIGHT

Stunning . . . The Circus Train conjures up the glittering story of Lena, a young, disabled woman in a travelling circus. In the face of terrible adversity, she is determined not just to survive, but to thrive. - Polly Crosby, author of THE ILLUSTRATED CHILD

The Circus Train is a cinematic tale, languorously crafted to immerse readers into the world of magic and subterfuge. Parikh is a natural storyteller - her lines imbue the novel with a poetic authenticity and legitimacy that we saw in Sara Gruen's novel Water for Elephants and, to some extent, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus. - SYDNEY HERALD

Absorbing and satisfying - Sarah Morgan, author of SLEEPLESS IN MANHATTAN

A spellbinding and life affirming novel, The Circus Train captivates from the very first page - Iris Costello, author of THE SECRETS OF ROCHESTER PLACE

The Circus Train is an epic, beautifully researched, heart-in-mouth adventure with magic on every page. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Lena, Theo and Alexandre's world. - Emma Styles, author of NO COUNTRY FOR GIRLS

I spent a wonder-filled afternoon immersed in The Circus Train. Sweeping and captivating historical fiction. - Sophie Anderson, author of THE THIEF WHO SANG STORMS

I very much enjoyed The Circus Train - Alexandra Bell, author of THE WINTER GARDEN

One of my favourite books of the year . . . a beautiful novel - Stacey Thomas, author of THE REVELS

A poignant story of a young woman's strive for independence, overcoming disability, the atrocities of WWII, and betrayal. Heartbreak, romance and love filter throughout and I thoroughly enjoyed the ending offering hope - Glynis Peters, author of THE SECRET ORPHAN

A spellbinding tale of illusions, family secrets, courage, and devotion, as a circus train tours European cities under threat of war and persecution. Amita Parikh's skills as a storyteller will enthrall the reader. In Lena Papadopoulos she has created an irresistible and memorable young heroine. - Carol Windley, author of 'Midnight Train to Prague'

Sit back and enjoy as this magical story transports you through war-torn Europe, demonstrating how family can be found in the most unconventional ways. - Shilpi Somaya Gowda, author of The Shape of Family

The Circus Train is a lush, luminous story of outsiders, those disadvantaged by accidents of birth or menacing political regimes. Amita Parikh's prose shimmers; get ready to be immersed in its rich textures and breathtaking illusions - fire jugglers, mermaid-acrobats, and more. But the real magic is human connection, a sense of belonging, self-fulfillment. I cheered until the final page for Parikh's characters who strive to beat the odds in a world of turmoil, characters drawn with great love by their creator, in this novel so generous in scope and heart. - Jeanette Lynes, author of 'The Small Things that End the World'

The Circus Train is a dazzling and delightful debut. Amita Parikh plunges us into a mesmerizing tale of colourful acts and characters, who must elicit truth from illusion as they face dark forces and seek out their places in a changing world. I thoroughly enjoyed this read - Ellen Keith, bestselling author of 'The Dutch Wife'

Set against the vivid and original backdrop of a traveling circus in World War II Europe, The Circus Train is . . . a powerful reminder that to live is not just to survive, but to be seen and known for ourselves - Pam Jenoff, author of THE WOMAN WITH THE BLUE STAR

Magic, love, destiny, and illusion combine with the glitter of 20th century circus life and the heartbreak of war in The Circus Train, Amita Parikh's masterful first novel . . .. A powerful tale of hope in the face of tragedy and great love in the face of staggering loss. An extraordinary debut. - KRISTIN HARMEL, author of THE BOOK OF LOST NAMES

I fell head and heart into the pages of The Circus Train. The triumphant spirit of the characters shines brightly as they navigate the extravagance of the World of Wonders circus and a challenging historical landscape. This is a book readers will carry with them, in the best of ways, for a long time to come - Lorelei Savaryn, author of THE CIRCUS OF STOLEN DREAMS

Fascinating. . . Parikh's extensive historical research adds authenticity to the lives of the circus performers as well as Lena's disability, and the characters' arcs highlight the ever-present dangers in WWII Europe and make palpable the strength of friendship. Fans of historical fiction will be drawn to this page-turner - Publisher's Weekly

Immersive and intricately plotted, this novel brings to life the precarious, colorful world of circus performance in prewar Europe, where nothing is as it seems, danger lurks around every corner, and success is a matter of confidence, luck, and risk. Lena, Alexandre, and Theo are lovable characters, each backed by three-dimensional backstories that expand and intersect satisfyingly as the novel progresses. . . Parikh has created a carefully researched historical debut whose bighearted, sensitive protagonist makes the reader's emotional journey well worth it. Lively and richly detailed. - Kirkus

[A] multilevel story of friendship, love, and survival spanning the World War II era. . . [Parikh's] research into circuses, concentration camps, and disability all provide a keen historical realism to her characters and events. Indeed, it is Parikh's sensitive eye toward the reality of living with polio in the 1930s to 1950s that is the real heart of this romantic tale. - Library Journal

You may also be interested in...

The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Circe
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Pachinko
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Book Thief
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Mythos
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Silence of the Girls
Added to basket
Wolf Hall
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Pillars of the Earth
Added to basket
A Thousand Ships
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Fingersmith
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Miniaturist
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Familiars
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Imperium
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
Added to basket
How We Disappeared
Added to basket
TheBookTrail

“A novel to transport to the world of the circus during wartime”

What a wonderfully magical yet heartbreaking novel.

The moment I heard about this novel I wanted to read it as it spoke to me. You get that feeling with books sometimes and I may have contacted the people on the... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 15
Dan - Clifton, Bristol.

“A magical wonder!”

Europe, 1938.
Lena Papadopoulos is the daughter of the extraordinary, flamboyant, astounding illusionist, Theo, and as a result she has never been able to find her voice or place within the gilded travelling circus... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

“Absorbing, layered and oh so magical.”

I genuinely loved everything about this book.
It’s one of the most absorbing and atmospheric books I’ve read. I was totally sucked into the world. I felt like I came to know the characters so well.
I was moved by... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: