Cold Sun - Detective Vijay Patel (Paperback)
  • Cold Sun - Detective Vijay Patel (Paperback)
zoom

Cold Sun - Detective Vijay Patel (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 12/08/2021
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Wow just incredible... The killer's identity just took my breath away... Breathtaking suspense and mystery that will blow you away... Outstanding. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐' Surjit's Book Blog⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

In the golden afternoon light, the young woman lies perfectly still, her dark hair fanning out behind her. She is dressed in a rose red sari, shot through with gold. Just like the others.

The last time Detective Vijay Patel visited India, he vowed never to return. After a devastating accident, the country holds only bitter memories and broken dreams. But when three young women are murdered in mysterious circumstances, Patel is pulled back to his past.

Leaving his fiancée Sarah behind in London, Patel rushes to a beautiful apartment on a tree-lined street where the body of Sarita Mohan, a successful businesswoman, has been found. Floating on a sea of black satin, she is dressed in red silk, a tiny silver ring on the fourth toe of her right foot.

Desperate to find a link between the murders, Patel digs into the other cases and spots the missing link. The toe ring is a symbol of marriage and the distinctive red saris are traditionally worn for weddings. What is the killer trying to tell them? Why leave each body posed like a bride?

Then Sarah is kidnapped, and Patel is frantic to find the woman he loves before she becomes the next victim. As he desperately re-reads the killer's last cryptic message, Patel finds the critical clue he's been searching for, and hopefully a chance to save Sarah.

Determined to rescue the woman he loves, can Patel outwit the deadliest killer he has ever faced? Or is he already too late?

Utterly unputdownable, this breathless thriller will keep you guessing until the final, shocking twist. Fans of Ian Rankin, Abir Mukherjee and Val McDermid will be totally gripped!

What readers are saying about Cold Sun:

'Wow, wow, wow. I just couldn't put this one down. An absolute masterpiece. Gritty, fast paced, brilliant... Loved loved all the characters... One of the best crime books I have ever read. Just wonderful. Will be recommending this to everyone.' Bestselling author Renita D'Silva ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Absolutely gripping... So intense... The twists I encountered along the way were so unexpected... I could not stop to put this down at any point... Gave me tingles... I was so nervous about how this book was going to play out.' Twilight Reader ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Completely pulled in... I have devoured this book in one sitting.' Little Miss Book Lover 87

'Twisty... I didn't guess the denouement at all, even as the book was racing towards its conclusion.' The Quick and the Read

'Exciting... A super-gripping new thriller series... You'll be kept guessing as to the killer's identity throughout... Will have you totally hooked.' Cosmopolitan

'Gripping... Very well drawn characters... Recommended!' NetGalley Reviewer

'Fast-paced and riveting.' Beyond the Books

'Anita Sivakumaran is an exciting new name in crime fiction.' The Times

Publisher: Dialogue
ISBN: 9780349701561
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 265 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Cold Sun is a stylish and exuberant, fish-out-of-water, crime thriller, in which former cricketer turned Scotland Yard detective, Vijay Patel, is sent to India to help with a murder investigation only to quickly find himself out of his depth when more victims are discovered. Patel isn't quite Indian enough to fit in and his British ideas about policing aren't entirely welcomed in this wonderfully observed, whip-smart, India-set thriller. - Amer Anwar

A really insightful and interesting read. Cold Sun is an exciting start to what should be a super-gripping new thriller series from Sivakumaran... You'll be kept guessing as to the killer's identity throughout... Will have you totally hooked. - Cosmopolitan

Fascinating, often irreverently funny, stuff and Patel is a worthy enough hero - Mike Ripley, Shots Mag

Brutal and lyrical by turns, Cold Sun is the first in a promising series - Joan Smith, The Times

A stylish and entertaining thriller offering a vivid and authentic insight into an unfamiliar but fascinating culture - Irish Times

Anita Sivakumaran is an exciting new name in crime fiction...Brutal and lyrical by turns, Cold Sun is the first in a promising series - Sunday Times

A stylish and entertaining thriller offering a vivid and authentic insight into an unfamiliar but fascinating culture' - Irish Independent

A great start to a projected series, both clever and funny, in which the clash of cultures is as fascinating as the crime - Sunday Times Crime Club

A really insightful and interesting read. Cold Sun is an exciting start to what should be a super-gripping new thriller series from Sivakumaran. - COSMOPOLITAN

Lively - SHOTS

[Cold Sun] is as eye-opening as it is entertaining - Literary Review

Wow, wow, wow. I just couldn't put this one down. An absolute masterpiece. Gritty, fast paced, brilliant... Loved loved all the characters... This is definitely one of the best crime books I have ever read. Just wonderful. Will be recommending this to everyone - Starred review, Bestselling author Renita D’Silva

A great start to a projected series, both clever and funny, in which the clash of cultures is as fascinating as the crime. - The Sunday Times Crime Club

You may also be interested in...

I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Death in the Parish
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
The World of Hercule Poirot
Added to basket
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Leicester DI and his Indian counterpart make a great team”

A crime novel with a Leicester detective and a spate of murders in Bangalore, India. I simply had to pick up Cold Sun to know more.

This is Sivakumaran's debut crime novel but she has an impressive record of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“First in a series - cannot wait for the second..”

I would like to thank Netgalley and Little, Brown Book Group UK, for an advance copy of Cold Sun, which features DS Vijay Patel. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and the setting, mainly in Bengalaru, India. I loved... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: