Frying Plantain (Paperback)
  • Frying Plantain (Paperback)
zoom

Frying Plantain (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 272 Pages
Published: 02/09/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'This is the book I've been waiting to read my entire life on the diasporic Caribbean experience. The writing is sharp, intelligent and everything you'd expect from a talented Jamaican writer. I honestly love this book' Symeon Brown

'Frying Plantain is every bit as delicious as the title suggests' Candice Carty-Williams, author of Queenie

In her brilliantly incisive debut, Zalika Reid-Benta artfully depicts the tensions between mothers and daughters, second-generation immigrants and first-generation cultural expectations, and Black identity and predominately white society.

Kara Davis is a girl caught in the middle - of her Canadian nationality and her desire to be a 'true' Jamaican, of her mother and grandmother's rages and life lessons, of having to avoid being thought of as too 'faas' or too 'quiet' or too 'bold' or too 'soft'.

Set in Toronto's 'Little Jamaica', Kara moves from girlhood to the threshold of adulthood, from elementary school to high school graduation, in these twelve interconnected stories.

A rich and unforgettable portrait of growing up between worlds, Frying Plantain shows how, in one charged moment, friendship and love can turn to enmity and hate, well-meaning protection can become control, and teasing play can turn to something much darker. A must-read for fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Jamaica Kincaid and Zadie Smith.

Publisher: Dialogue
ISBN: 9780349701509
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 220 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

An incisive and sharp must-read coming-of-age story - Refinery29

A debut novel from a writer to watch - NOW Magazine

A show-stopping debut collection, delving into family pressures and control, experiences of identity in immigrant families, and life as a young Black woman in Toronto - Open Book (Canada)

This is the book I've been waiting to read my entire life on the diasporic Caribbean experience. The writing is sharp, intelligent and everything you'd expect from a talented Jamaican writer. I honestly love this book - Symeon Brown

Frying Plantain is every bit as delicious as the title suggests - Candice Carty-Williams, author of Queenie

An outstanding debut - Stylist

Tackling big issues including race, class, and identity, these interlinked stories share a strong emphasis on the intergenerational relationships - and pressures - many can feel. Zalika's debut novel really is set to be a modern classic - Happiful

Reid-Banks' beautifully written debut follows Kara Davis as she makes her way in Toronto's Little Jamaica - The i

A great debut - Prima

You may also be interested in...

The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Old God's Time
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The Pumpkin Spice Café
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Intelligent, engaging and razor sharp;”

Frying Plantain is essentially a collection of short but interlinking stories about a girl name Kara; a Canadian national who is grappling with her Jamaican roots and trying to make sense of exactly who she is. I... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“It's okay”

Thanks to NetGalley and The Publisher for this eARC in exchange for an honest review.

Frying Plantain is a coming of age story told through a series of interconnected short stories exploring the relationships between... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Intelligent, engaging and razor sharp”

Frying Plantain is essentially a collection of short but interlinking stories about a girl name Kara; a Canadian national who is grappling with her Jamaican roots and trying to make sense of exactly who she is. I... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: