Blueprint (Hardback)
  • Blueprint (Hardback)
zoom

Blueprint (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£14.99 £7.50
Hardback 240 Pages / Published: 01/08/2019
  • Save £7.49
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket

'This powerful novel tells a story of a time past that feels eerily reflective of the present' Sunday Times

'Bring[s] to life the Bauhaus movement' Elle


LUISE SCHILLING WANTS TO TEAR DOWN THE PAST AND BUILD A NEW FUTURE.

At the beginning of the turbulent 1920s, she leaves her father's conservative household in Berlin for Weimar's Bauhaus university, with dreams of studying architecture.

But when she arrives and encounters a fractured social world of mystics and formalists, communists and fascists, the dichotomy between the rigid past and a hopeful future turns out to be a lot more muddled than she thought.

She gets involved with a cult-like spiritual group, looking for community and falling in love with elusive art student Jakob. Luise has ambitions of achieving a lot in life - but little of it has to do with paying homage to great men. Surrounded by luminaries, like Gropius and Kandinsky, she throws herself into the dreams and ideas of her epoch.

While her art school friends retreat into a world of self-improvement and jargon, her home city of Berlin is embroiled in street fights. Amid the social upheaval, she has to decide where she stands. From technology to art, romanticism to the avant-garde, populism to the youth movement, Luise encounters themes, utopias and ideas that still shape us to the present day. Blueprint is a young woman's dispatch from a past culture war that rings all too familiar.

Perfect for fans of The Secret History by Donna Tartt and The Last Nude by Ellis Avery.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349700816
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 460 g
Dimensions: 236 x 156 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This powerful novel tells a story of a time past that feels eerily reflective of the present * Sunday Times *
A coming-of-age story about a female Bauhaus student in the 1920s, exploring themes of politics, expectation and ownership of art * Red *
Bringing to life the Bauhaus movement (which is now in its 100th year), this book follows student Luise as she starts university in 1920s Germany. Full of dreams, she soon gets caught up in a cult-like spiritual group * Elle *

You may also be interested in...

Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Secret History
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
No One Is Talking About This
Added to basket
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Art and ideology....”

This is the story of a young woman’s dream of becoming an architect. Louise, against her parent’s wishes, joins the celebrated Bauhaus school of art to fulfil her ambitions. She soon realised that the school had the... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 29

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.