A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem - A Lady's Guide (Paperback)
  • A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem - A Lady's Guide (Paperback)
zoom

A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem - A Lady's Guide (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 10/11/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Witty, intelligent, and hard to put down, you'll love A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem' Rachel Van Dyken

An intrepid female reporter matches wits with a serious, sexy detective in award-winning author Manda Collins' fun and flirty historical romcom, perfect for readers of Evie Dunmore, Julia Quinn, Tessa Dare and Netflix's Enola Holmes!

Of all the crime scenes in all the world, she walks into his. Twice.

England, 1865: Notorious newspaper columnist Lady Katherine Bascomb is determined to educate the ladies of London on the nefarious criminals who are praying on the fairer sex. But when her reporting leads to the arrest of an infamous killer, Katherine flees to a country house party to escape her doubts about the case - only to become witness to a murder herself! When the lead detective accuses Katherine of inflaming - rather than informing - the public with her column, she vows to prove him wrong.

Detective Inspector Andrew Eversham's refusal to compromise his investigations nearly cost him his career, and he blames Katherine. When he discovers she's the key witness in a new crime, he's determined to prevent the beautiful widow from once again wreaking havoc on his case. Yet as Katherine proves surprisingly insightful and Andrew impresses Katherine with his lethal competency, both are forced to admit the fire between them is more flirtatious than furious. But to explore the passion between them, they'll need to catch a killer . . .

Praise for Manda Collins

'Manda Collins heats up the ballroom and writes romance to melt even the frostiest duke's heart' Tessa Dare, New York Times bestselling author

'Utterly charming' Popsugar

'Manda Collins is a delight! I read A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem waaay past my bedtime, absorbed by its spot-on period detail, the well-crafted characters, and, of course, the intriguing mystery. Brava!' Elizabeth Hoyt, New York Times bestselling author

'Mystery, romance, and an indomitable heroine make for a brisk, compelling read' Madeline Hunter, New York Times bestselling author

'Manda Collins writes sexy and smart historical romance, with a big dash of fun' Vanessa Kelly, USA Today bestselling author

'Sexy, thrilling, romantic . . . Manda Collins makes her Regency world a place any reader would want to dwell' Kieran Kramer, USA Today bestselling author

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349428017
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Quippy Victorian romance, which sees a sweet relationship bloom during the hunt for a serial killer. Both romance and mystery fans will find this a treat * Publishers Weekly *
With wicked smart dialogue and incredibly strong characters, Manda Collins reminds me why I love historical romance so much. Witty, intelligent, and hard to put down, you'll love A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem -- Rachel Van Dyken, No. 1 New York Times bestselling author
[Manda] Collins is a delight! I read A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem waaay past my bedtime, absorbed by its spot-on period detail, the well-crafted characters, and, of course, the intriguing mystery. Brava! -- Elizabeth Hoyt, New York Times bestselling author
Mystery, romance, and an indomitable heroine make for a brisk, compelling read -- Madeline Hunter, New York Times bestselling author
When I pick up a Manda Collins book, I know I'm in for a treat. With compelling characters and a rich Victorian setting, A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem weaves mystery and romance into one enthralling tale -- Tessa Dare, New York Times bestselling author
Utterly charming * Popsugar *
Smartly plotted, superbly executed, and splendidly witty * Booklist *
Collins blends historical romance and mystery with characters who embody a modern sensibility . . . the protagonists and setting of this first in a promising new series are thoroughly enjoyable * Library Journal *
Manda Collins smoothly blends romance and an English country-house whodunit . . . The twists and turns of the plot will keep readers guessing, but Kate's independent attitude and the interesting friends she gathers around her bring the story to vivid life * Bookpage *
Manda Collins writes sexy and smart historical romance, with a big dash of fun -- Vanessa Kelly, USA Today bestselling author
Sexy, thrilling, romantic . . . Manda Collins makes her Regency world a place any reader would want to dwell -- Kieran Kramer, USA Today bestselling author
A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem is wickedly smart, so engrossing it'd be a crime not to read it immediately * Entertainment Weekly *

You may also be interested in...

The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The River Between Us
Added to basket
The Doll Factory
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Nightingale
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Daughters of War
Added to basket
The Other Bennet Sister
Added to basket
The Moon Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Beautiful Spy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Love Letter
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Missing Sister
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Shadow Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Afterlives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Alchemy and Rose
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Evening and the Morning
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Romantic mystery”

I like a historical romance and throw in two antagonistic leads and a bit of mystery and you have me itching to get stuck in. Unfortunately I struggled to engage with the story’s as much as I’d hoped I would. Kate... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Very well written”

It has everything; murder, intrigue, romance, action, mystery etc. It was nice to see a historical book written in such a way to reflect the real attitudes and beliefs of people at the time, whilst also having a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Not Quite Right”

Although I enjoyed this book, I didn't love it. Mystery meets romance, it sounded like exactly what I needed, but unfortunately fell short.

I love strong female characters, but something about Katherine just... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.