Death and the Brewery Queen: Book 12 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)
  • Death and the Brewery Queen: Book 12 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)
zoom

Death and the Brewery Queen: Book 12 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 29/10/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily Mail

'Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' Ann Cleeves

A call for help

It's the spring of 1930 and Private Investigator Kate Shackleton responds to a call for help from the owner of Barleycorn Brewery in the North Riding of Yorkshire. The brewery's books don't add up, but when the one employee who may know what's really going on meets with a fatal accident, Kate's investigation intensifies.

A second body

On the day of the brewery garden party, amidst celebrations for the newly crowned Yorkshire Brewery Queen, Kate opens the wrong door and finds herself staring at another body - and in danger of asphyxiation.

A secret to die for

It's clear there are secrets somebody would kill to keep buried. And with the Brewery Queen's growing reputation bringing Barleycorn further into the spotlight, Kate's wit, skill and passion for the truth are tested to the limits.

Whether you've read the whole series, or are discovering the Kate Shackleton mysteries for the first time, this is the perfect page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and Jacqueline Winspear.

What readers are saying about the Kate Shackleton mysteries:

'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' Ann Granger

'Delightful' People's Friend

'Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish' Barry Turner,Daily Mail

'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT Book Reviews

'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences' Literary Review

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349423081
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 255 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

I really adore this series and Kate is such a strong, level-headed character - Woman's Way

A novel that combines clever detection with a sympathetic understanding of human frailty - Daily Mail

Praise for Frances Brody:

Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive

Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers - Daily Mail

Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine

Delightful - People's Friend

Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish - Daily Mail

Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters - RT Book Reviews

Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences. As self-reliant women in a society that still regards them a second-class citizens, they make excellent heroines - Literary Review

Kate Shackleton is an engagingly forthright and indefatigable investigator - Irish Times

Frances Brody skilfully holds our attention, making us want to read on and then look forward to the next Kate Shackleton mystery - Gazette & Herald

The series is right up there with Miss Marple - Sunday Sport

You may also be interested in...

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Murder Game
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Fury
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Heart Full of Headstones
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Winter Grave
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Murdle: More Killer Puzzles
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Paperback

“Great”

I wasn't really in the mood for the previous book (the body on the train) when I read it. I struggled with it at first but once I got a third of the way in I started to enjoy it. So I was a little worried about... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

“A highly enjoyable book that happens to be a mystery”

Death and the Brewery Queen by Frances Brody is superb. The story is centred on the fictional Barleycorn Brewery in the real town of Masham, Yorkshire. Ruth Parnaby, a wages clerk at the brewery, has won the Brewery... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Mine's a pint of nut brown ale, please!”

In their 12th outing, Kate and Sykes are trying to find a missing nephew for the owner of Barleycorn Brewery, but things at the Brewery are not all they seem and it's not long before they are investigating two... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: