The Light Within Us - The Spindrift Trilogy (Paperback)
  • The Light Within Us - The Spindrift Trilogy (Paperback)
zoom

The Light Within Us - The Spindrift Trilogy (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 02/07/2020
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

'A delightful historical saga which is so beautifully woven together that from the very start I was enchanted' Jaffa Reads Too

From the award-winning author of The Apothecary's Daughter comes a beautifully evocative, family drama, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Elizabeth Jane Howard's Cazalet Chronicles.

1891. Spindrift House, Cornwall.

Talented painter Edith Fairchild is poised to begin a life of newlywed bliss and artistic creation in the inspiring setting of Spindrift House, freshly inherited by her charming husband, Benedict, and overlooking the stunning harbour of Port Isaac. But when her honeymoon turns sour, her dreams are all but dashed and after a moment of madness and desire she finds herself pregnant with another man's child.

Edith swears never to tell her secret and devotes herself to her art. Joined at Spindrift House by her friends - Clarissa, Dora and the secret father of her child, Pascal - together they turn the house into a budding artists' community. But despite their dreams of an idyllic way of life creating beauty by the sea, it becomes clear that all is not perfect within their tight-knit community, and that the weight of their secrets could threaten to tear apart their paradise forever...

Why do readers love Charlotte Betts?

'This book was a pleasure to read, from beginning to end. A story in which to lose yourself, and become part of the community... It's Spindrift House against the world, and you'll be one of them, every step of the way!' Terri Nixon

'I loved this book . . . The Light Within Us is a real page-turner, and I'm very much looking forward to reading the next stage of the journey through the lives of those who inhabit Spindrift House. Highly recommended' Liz Harris

'I can't even begin to explain how much I loved this book. I really wasn't expecting to get so invested in these character's lives... but WOW. I thought this would just be a simple love story, but it is SO MUCH MORE than that' Rainy Reads

'Written with flair, style and confidence, The Light Within Us . . . touches the heart and lifts the spirit' Bookish Jottings

'The Light Within Us is a book that captivated me from start to finish. Rich in detail, full of passion this is a delightful and fascinating read. I really can't wait to get my hands on the next book in the trilogy' Book Literati

'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fforde

'A highly-recommended novel of love, tragedy and the power of art' Daily Mail

'I was captivated by this moving, heart-warming and beautifully woven story - gripping, atmospheric, eloquently told and full of rich detail' Kate Furnivall

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349422978
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
What an engrossing read! The small group of artistic friends who take up residence at Spindrift House in Cornwall are intriguing and fascinating people * Discovering Diamonds *
The descriptions are atmospheric and rich in detail - a work of art in words to complement the artistic theme of the story * Karen's Book Bag *
I thoroughly enjoyed this sweeping historical novel set in Cornwall . . . Beautifully written, engaging and heartwarming the perfect read for the summer! * Book Club Mumma *
I can't even begin to explain how much I loved this book. I really wasn't expecting to get so invested in these character's lives... but WOW. I thought this would just be a simple love story, but it is SO MUCH MORE than that. * Rainy Reads *
Charlotte Betts writes wonderfully immersive historical novels. The Light Within Us is the latest in a long line of evocative, enthralling and enjoyable tales sure to hold readers spellbound. Written with flair, style and confidence, The Light Within Us ... touches the heart and lifts the spirit * Bookish Jottings *
A poignant, compelling and extensively researched novel that left me wanting the next book in the series . . . I cannot wait to find out what happens next to these characters * Sarah's Vignettes *
A delightful historical saga which is so beautifully woven together that from the very start I was enchanted -- Jaffa Reads Too
I became so invested in these characters that I found myself crying throughout (both happy and sad tears!). I'm really excited to read the next two books and for me there's no way I could give The Light Within Us less than a five-star rating. * The Little Library x *
The Light Within Us is a book that captivated me from start to finish. Rich in detail, full of passion this is a delightful and fascinating read. I really can't wait to get my hands on the next book in the trilogy * Book Literati *
Charlotte's writing is captivating. I cannot wait for the second book * Steph Loves *
This book was a pleasure to read, from beginning to end. A story in which to lose yourself, and become part of the community... It's Spindrift House against the world, and you'll be one of them, every step of the way! -- Terri Nixon
I loved this book . . . The Light Within Us is a real page-turner, and I'm very much looking forward to reading the next stage of the journey through the lives of those who inhabit Spindrift House. Highly recommended -- Liz Harris

You may also be interested in...

Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Azincourt
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
The White Queen
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Siege Of Krishnapur
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Beautiful and captivating”

In the past I have read quite a few of Charlotte Bett’s books, and. love her style of writing, painting a picture with her words. The Light Within Us opens with some of the most beautiful writing I have read.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.