Phone for the Fish Knives (Hardback)
  • Phone for the Fish Knives (Hardback)
zoom

Phone for the Fish Knives (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 17/06/2021
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

The Todes are back, and they're taking on Hollywood . . .

When Hollywood wants to do a remake of the film that made Tode Hall famous, India and Egbert are delighted. They envisage a summer of free money and star-studded dinner parties ahead . . .

But the Hall is soon overrun by wardrobe trucks and catering tents, and lusty, insecure actors squabbling about nudity clauses. When the movie's producers threaten to sue over the exact colour of Tode Hall's rolling lawns, India and Egbert realise that having a film crew on their doorstep isn't such a breeze after all. With so many egos in one place things were bound to end badly, but no one would have predicted quite so literal a backstabbing . . .

A glorious satire on aristocratic manners and mores, with a smidgeon of murder thrown in, Waugh's hilarious and entirely original twist on the country house murder mystery is 'a perfect antidote to all the real-life craziness going on' Daily Mail

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349422480
Number of pages: 304
Dimensions: 222 x 138 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for the Todes of Tode Hall series:
Fans of PG Wodehouse and Agatha Christie should bag this madcap comedy whodunnit . . . Outrageous and over-the-top, a perfect antidote to all real-life craziness going on * Daily Mail *
It's sharp, funny and just the right amount of farcical - the best sort of murder mystery * Tatler *
I couldn't put it down -- Santa Montefiore
What a triumph! It gave me enormous pleasure to read, plus of course a few appropriate shudders. [In the Crypt] lightens the darkness in a way that is both dark and light -- Antonia Fraser
An irresistible champagne bubble of pleasure and laughter -- Rachel Johnson
Agatha Christie but with a bit of Julian Fellowes's Snobs and Downtown Abbey thrown in . . . A masterclass in how to write a rollicking good read -- Sarah Vine
A jolly farce that never takes itself too seriously * Red Magazine *
Fizzles, crackles and sparkles -- Elizabeth Buchan
An irresistible, high-camp crime caper - deliciously entertaining -- Andrew Wilson
A perfect antidote to wintry gloom * The Literary Review *
A country-house murder mystery with nods to Agatha Christie and Evelyn Waugh . . . a delightful treat * The Lady *
An effervescent madcap whodunnit * Metro *
A work of sublime silliness. The knife-edge between crime and comedy is a tricky one, but Daisy Waugh negotiates it magnificently . . . a delightful book, witty, pacy and beautifully written -- Simon Brett
This is a marvellous rollicking read with brilliantly drawn characters. I finished it within 24 hours -- Mary Killen
She's spot on; she's skewered her targets brilliantly -- Imogen Edwards-Jones

You may also be interested in...

Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Silent Wife
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death of a Bookseller
Added to basket
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Killings at Kingfisher Hill
Added to basket
Who They Was
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Postscript Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
The Glass Hotel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.