Phone for the Fish Knives (Hardback)
  • Phone for the Fish Knives (Hardback)
zoom

Phone for the Fish Knives (Hardback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 17/06/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Daisy Waugh's featherlight satires are as refreshing and uplifting as a glass of chilled vintage champagne. . . Imagine Agatha Christie on laughing gas' Times

The Todes are back, and they're taking on Hollywood . . .


When Hollywood wants to do a remake of the film that made Tode Hall famous, India and Egbert are delighted. They envisage a summer of free money and star-studded dinner parties ahead . . .

But the Hall is soon overrun by wardrobe trucks and catering tents, and lusty, insecure actors squabbling about nudity clauses. When the movie's producers threaten to sue over the exact colour of Tode Hall's rolling lawns, India and Egbert realise that having a film crew on their doorstep isn't such a breeze after all. With so many egos in one place things were bound to end badly, but no one would have predicted quite so literal a backstabbing . . .

'A glorious satire on aristocratic manners and mores, with a smidgeon of murder thrown in, Waugh's hilarious and entirely original twist on the country house murder mystery is 'a perfect antidote to all the real-life craziness going on' Daily Mail

Praise for the Todes

'Witty, well-written and determinedly entertaining . . . the perfect book for the staycation' Catholic Herald

'I couldn't put it down' Santa Montefiore

'A delightful treat' The Lady

'Deliciously entertaining' Andrew Wilson

'An irresistible champagne bubble of pleasure and laughter' Rachel Johnson

'A perfect antidote to wintry gloom' The Literary Review

'What a triumph!' Antonia Fraser

'A masterclass in how to write a rollicking good read' Sarah Vine

'A jolly farce that never takes itself too seriously' Red Magazine

'Fizzles, crackles and sparkles' Elizabeth Buchan

'A work of sublime silliness' Simon Brett

'An effervescent madcap whodunnit' Metro

'A marvellous rollicking read' Mary Killen

'She's skewered her targets brilliantly' Imogen Edwards-Jones

'This contemporary take on a golden age mystery is simply wonderful.' Belfast Telegraph

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349422480
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 413 g
Dimensions: 220 x 142 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for the Todes of Tode Hall series:
Fans of PG Wodehouse and Agatha Christie should bag this madcap comedy whodunnit . . . Outrageous and over-the-top, a perfect antidote to all real-life craziness going on * Daily Mail *
It's sharp, funny and just the right amount of farcical - the best sort of murder mystery * Tatler *
I couldn't put it down -- Santa Montefiore
What a triumph! It gave me enormous pleasure to read, plus of course a few appropriate shudders. [In the Crypt] lightens the darkness in a way that is both dark and light -- Antonia Fraser
An irresistible champagne bubble of pleasure and laughter -- Rachel Johnson
Agatha Christie but with a bit of Julian Fellowes's Snobs and Downtown Abbey thrown in . . . A masterclass in how to write a rollicking good read -- Sarah Vine
A jolly farce that never takes itself too seriously * Red Magazine *
Fizzles, crackles and sparkles -- Elizabeth Buchan
An irresistible, high-camp crime caper - deliciously entertaining -- Andrew Wilson
A perfect antidote to wintry gloom * The Literary Review *
A country-house murder mystery with nods to Agatha Christie and Evelyn Waugh . . . a delightful treat * The Lady *
An effervescent madcap whodunnit * Metro *
A work of sublime silliness. The knife-edge between crime and comedy is a tricky one, but Daisy Waugh negotiates it magnificently . . . a delightful book, witty, pacy and beautifully written -- Simon Brett
This is a marvellous rollicking read with brilliantly drawn characters. I finished it within 24 hours -- Mary Killen
She's spot on; she's skewered her targets brilliantly -- Imogen Edwards-Jones

You may also be interested in...

The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Murders at Fleat House
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sixteen Horses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Hour
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A bit of 'Wodehouse lite'!”

More adventures of the Tode family, this time involved with filming on location at Tode Hall. All a bit silly with a smattering of literary references thrown in. A quick fun read on a hot afternoon. Thanks to... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“funny”

Thanks to NetGalley and the publishers for giving me access to an e-arc of this book in exchange of my honest opinion. Disclaimer I would not have picked this book if I had to pay for it. It would have been my lost... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Recommended”

Another book featuring the Tode family, hilarious and engrossing.
It's a sort of slapstick mystery, the plot flows and the mystery kept me guessing.
I had a lot of fun and liked the characters and the plot.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.