Seven Days of Us (Paperback)
  • Seven Days of Us (Paperback)
zoom

Seven Days of Us (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 18/10/2018
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'One of the best books of the year' Hello!

'If you are struggling with self-isolation in the family home, then this is the novel for you' Abbie Greaves, author of The Silent Treatment

The joyful, sharply observed and life-affirming story about being quarantined with your loved ones. Also a Radio 2 Bookclub pick.

It's the holidays, and the Birch family is gathering for the first time in years.

Olivia, the eldest daughter, has returned from treating an epidemic abroad and must go into quarantine for seven days. Her mother has decided it's the perfect opportunity to spend some 'special time' together. Her youngest sister wholeheartedly disagrees. Her father isn't allowed an opinion.

When no one can leave the house and no one can enter, quaratine for the Birches feels like an eternity.

Especially when they're all harbouring secrets. One of which is about to come knocking at their door...

Rave reviews for Seven Days of Us:

'LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end' Marian Keyes

'I loved this comic drama...the plot is genius...and the results are hilarious and touching'Daily Mail

'One of the best family dramas you'll ever read' Best

'Francesca Hornak is hilariously funny with characters that jump off the page, grab you, and just won't let go' Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister

'Sharply observed by Hornak's satirical eye, this has "Working Title film deal" written all over it' Glamour

'Expertly captures the joys and the tensions of spending any time with those who know you best. It thoroughly deserves to be this year's big Christmas hit' The i

'Absorbing, insightful and immensely enjoyable' Laura Barnett, bestselling author of The Versions of Us

'Compassionate, witty and wise' Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins

'I LOVED Seven Days of Us. The story swallowed me up. It has all the makings of your classic rom-com, with characters that are both remarkable yet wonderfully relatable' The Unmumsy Mum

'Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It's stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it' Adele Geras

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349415611
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 276 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

One of the best books of the year - Hello!

LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous! - Marian Keyes

I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching - Daily Mail

Read it if you like Marian Keyes' Rachel's Holiday... it's one of the best family dramas you'll ever read - Best

Sharply observed by Hornak's satirical eye, this has 'Working Title film deal' written all over it - Glamour

Seven Days of Us expertly captures the joys and the tensions of spending any time with those who know you best. It thoroughly deserves to be this year's big Christmas hit - The i

Absorbing, insightful and immensely enjoyable - Laura Barnett, bestselling author of The Versions of Us

Compassionate, witty and wise - Saskia Sarginson, bestelling author of The Twins

Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It's stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it - Adele Geras

It's a cliché to say this book is a rollercoaster but the sun came up and the sun went down, people cried for help, and the bath overflowed, and I couldn't move, captivated by this extraordinary page-turner. The plot is compulsive and doesn't let up till the very last chapter. It has more twists and turns than Hampton Court Maze and yet Francesca Hornak guides one through it all with a confident hand until one puts it down, exhausted but exhilarated by such a rollicking good read. Terrific - Virginia Ironside

An engrossing and funny study of a middle-class British family in crisis. I loved it! - Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks

Witty and deeply heartfelt - Bestselling author Emily Griffin

Hornak's first novel is a farcical gem, perfect for fans of Matthew Norman and Emma Straub. Alternately tender and razor-sharp, Seven Days of Us will resonate with anyone who regresses the minute they step inside their childhood home - Booklist starred review

A superb drama - smart and touching - Sunday Mirror

An emotional but ultimately uplifting holiday story - Kirkus Review

A humorous and heartwarming page-turner - Belfast Telegraph

This book is heartwarming and gloriously funny, anyone who spends the Christmas period with their family will be able to relate hugely to this novel. Thank god it's happening to the characters and not to you! - Doncaster Free Press

If you are struggling with self-isolation in the family home, then this is the novel for you - Abbie Greaves, author of The Silent Treatment

With its wry observations on class, family, and veddy-British traditions, Francesca Hornak's absorbing debut sparkles with glints of Nancy Mitford and Julian Fellowes

You may also be interested in...

Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
This Family
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket

“A cracking family drama”

This is a great read. The Birch family - parents Andrew and Emma, daughters Olivia and Phoebe - are forced to spend a week over Christmas in quarantine at their family home in the countryside when Olivia returns from... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: