A Death in the Dales: Book 7 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)
  • A Death in the Dales: Book 7 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)
zoom

A Death in the Dales: Book 7 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 01/10/2015
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily Mail

'Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' Ann Cleeves

A murder most foul


When the landlord of a Yorkshire tavern is killed in plain sight, Freda Simonson, the only witness to the crime, becomes plagued with guilt, believing the wrong man has been convicted. Following her death, it seems that the truth will never be uncovered in the peaceful village of Langcliffe . . .

A village of secrets

But it just so happens that Freda's nephew is courting the renowned amateur sleuth Kate Shackleton, who decides to holiday in Langcliffe with her indomitable teenage niece, Harriet. When Harriet strikes up a friendship with a local girl whose young brother is missing, the search leads Kate to uncover another suspicious death, not to mention an illicit affair.

The case of a lifetime

It soon becomes clear to her that nothing in Langcliffe is quite as it appears, and with a murderer on the loose and an ever-growing roster of suspects, this isn't the holiday Kate was expecting . . .

Whether you've read the whole series, or are discovering the Kate Shackleton mysteries for the first time, this is the perfect page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and Jacqueline Winspear.

Praise for the Kate Shackleton mysteries:

'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' Ann Granger

'Delightful' People's Friend

'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives matured by their wartime experiences. They make excellent heroines' Literary Review

'I really adore this series and Kate is such a strong, level-headed character' Woman's Way

'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT Book Reviews

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349406565
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish. * Daily Mail *
Frances Brody skilfully holds our attention, making us want to read on and then look forward to the next Kate Shackleton mystery. * Gazette & Herald *

You may also be interested in...

The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
The Other Passenger
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Little Disasters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Benefit of Hindsight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader

“Seventh book in series!”

A Death in the Dales by is the seventh book in A Kate Shackleton Mystery series. Kate Shackleton is taking her niece, Harriet on holiday to recover from her bout of diphtheria. They are going to stay in Lilac... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 58

“Another lovely story featuring Kate Shackleton”

I received a copy of this book from the publishers and this is my honest opinion of the book.

Kate Shackleton has taken her niece, Harriet, to the countryside to recuperate after an illness. It will also give Kate... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 43

“Cosy but not comfortable”

I seem to have come rather late to Frances Brody, the Leeds-based author of the Kate Shackleton mysteries, as this is the seventh book in the series. Maybe I have been avoiding them because they sat in our... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 31

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.