Yellow Wife (Paperback)
  • Yellow Wife (Paperback)
zoom

Yellow Wife (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 288 Pages
Published: 07/09/2023
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Virginia, 1850: 'Ain't many choices for a slave woman. Just know everything I do is for you. You are meant to see freedom. I's makin' sure.'

Pheby Delores Brown was born on the Bell Plantation in Charles City, Virginia. The daughter of the estate's medicine woman, and cherished by the Master's sister, her days as an enslaved girl are almost over... She has been promised freedom on her eighteenth birthday.

But when she finally turns eighteen, the life she has dreamed of is tragically torn from her. Instead of being free, she is thrust into the bowels of slavery at the infamous Devil's Half-Acre, a jail where slaves are broken, tortured and sold every day.

Her life flashing before her eyes, Pheby is forced to become the mistress of the jailor, the brutal man who owns the prison. Yet even in hell, Pheby never loses sight of her freedom. But how much will she have to sacrifice? And in the face of such darkness, will she survive?

Just as transfixing as it is devastating, this page-turner is inspired by the true story Mary Lumpkin, the enslaved woman who forged her own path to freedom. Perfect for fans of The Help and The Forest of Vanishing Stars, this heartbreaking read is about hope in a world of hate and the heart-wrenching price of survival.

Readers love Yellow Wife:

'Will literally stay with you forever. It was absolutely heartbreaking... I could not put it down. My heart was pounding throughout the entire book.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Uhhhhhhh... My heart aches!! This was such a powerful and heart-wrenching read... Amazing read!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Whew... One of the best historical fiction novels that I've ever read... Phenomenal.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'The fastest page-turner ever and a heart-pounding read... With riveting prose, the pages fly and your heart races.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'I ended up crying all the way through... Yes, I cried over these pages.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'My heart aches!! Such a powerful and heart-wrenching read.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'I was completely captivated by the first page and couldn't put this book down.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Beyond amazing.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'A harrowing, emotional, incredible historical saga!... I felt I right there with Pheby every step of the way. Equal parts heartbreaking and triumphant and inspiring.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Publisher: Dialogue
ISBN: 9780349130606
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 227 g
Dimensions: 196 x 124 x 26 mm

You may also be interested in...

Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Fatherland
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Atonement
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
An Instance of the Fingerpost
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Enigma
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
ReadAlongWithSue

“Disturbingly riveting”

Pheby.

Everything about this book got under my skin and into my various emotions good and bad.

Pheby was born on a Plantation and soon not only her mother who was already a slave, she too became a slave, except when... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: