Look Again: The Power of Noticing What was Always There (Hardback)
  • Look Again: The Power of Noticing What was Always There (Hardback)
zoom

Look Again: The Power of Noticing What was Always There (Hardback)

(author), (author)
£20.00
Hardback 288 Pages
Published: 29/02/2024
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

For fans of Thinking, Fast and Slow and The Power of Habit, a groundbreaking new study of how disrupting our well-worn routines, both good and bad, can rejuvenate our days and reset our brains to allow us to live happier and more fulfilling lives.

Have you ever noticed that what is thrilling on Monday tends to become boring on Friday? Even exciting relationships, stimulating jobs, and breathtaking works of art lose their sparkle after a while. People stop noticing what is most wonderful in their own lives. They also stop noticing what is terrible. They get used to dirty air. They stay in abusive relationships. People grow to accept authoritarianism and take foolish risks. They become unconcerned by their own misconduct, blind to inequality, and are more liable to believe misinformation than ever before.

But what if we could find a way to see everything anew? What if you could regain sensitivity, not only to the great things in your life, but also to the terrible things you stopped noticing and so don't try to change?

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349128757
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 500 g
Dimensions: 236 x 160 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Such a vivid, human and original book-the perfect guide to perking up everything from your creativity to your love life. - Tim Harford, author of How To Make The World Add Up

One trait of history's most creative thinkers-from Leonardo da Vinci to Albert Einstein-is that they are able to look anew and marvel at everyday things that most people have quit noticing: the alluring blueness of the sky, the passage of time, the way a light beam creates a spot of luster on a leaf. Look Again can help us all look in a fresh way at things around us. It's a smart and fun read, and a valuable way to revitalize your life. - Walter Isaacson, New York Times bestselling author of Steve Jobs

Timely and important. A clear and provocative book about the power of expectation and the endless mystery of the human mind. - Tara Westover, author of Educated

A very interesting book, recommended - Tyler Cowen

In Look Again, Sharot and Sunstein offer an insightful look into the science of habituation. Their insights into the why and how of getting used to things teach us how to hack habituation to bring more joy to our lives. A surprising and delightful book. - Annie Duke, bestselling author of Thinking in Bets

Look Again is the perfect book to help you refresh your point of view. Sharot and Sunstein reveal why it's easy to be lulled into complacency about anything and how to prevent falling into this trap. In the bargain, they'll help you live a happier, healthier, wiser and more just life. - Katy Milkman, bestselling author of How to Change: The Science of Getting from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be

A sensational guide to a more psychologically rich life. - Angela Duckworth, New York Times bestselling author of Grit

Look Again is a fascinating guide to how and why our biased minds get used to stuff and how we can fight through our usual adaptations. It's a must read for anyone who wants to feel happier, stay more present, and make healthier, more effective decisions. - Laurie Santos, Chandrika and Ranjan Tandon Professor of Psychology at Yale University and host of The Happiness Lab podcast

With intelligence and humor, Sharot and Sunstein provide guidance on how to refresh the spirit and see the world anew. If your world is starting to look grey and dull, this book might be your road map out of the comfort zone. - Kirkus Reviews

Sharot and Sunstein provide a revelatory investigation of a phenomenon that's as complex as it is common. This enthralls. - Publishers Weekly

A very persuasive new book - Financial Times

Their prescription for dis-habituating is equally eye-opening, from chopping up the good and swallowing the bad whole, to why ditching social media will be more liberating than you think. - Psychologies

You may also be interested in...

When Things Don’t Go Your Way
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
How to Talk to Anyone
Added to basket
Right Kind of Wrong
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The Psychology of Stupidity
Added to basket
The Untethered Soul
Added to basket
Feel The Fear And Do It Anyway
Added to basket
Four Thousand Weeks
Added to basket
Think Again
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat
Added to basket
Man's Search For Meaning
Added to basket
Why Has Nobody Told Me This Before?
Added to basket
The Anxious Generation
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Doppelganger
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Want
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: