The Fate of Mary Rose - Virago Modern Classics (Paperback)
  • The Fate of Mary Rose - Virago Modern Classics (Paperback)
zoom

The Fate of Mary Rose - Virago Modern Classics (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 240 Pages
Published: 17/10/2024
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

THE PITCH-BLACK FORGOTTEN CLASSIC OF 2024

From the Booker-shortlisted author of Great Granny Webster, this mordant gem of a thriller is perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson, Celia Dale and Ottessa Moshfegh.

'One of the greatest, darkest writers who ever lived' Virginia Feito
'This chillingly profound story drips with classy darkness. . . a one-way descent into the abyss' Janice Hallett
'A dark masterpiece' Camilla Grudova
'Vibrates with a frenzied, manic menace' Lucy Scholes
'A devastating investigation of neurosis, hysteria and cruelty' Observer
'A winner . . . Guaranteed to disturb' Sunday Times
'Caroline Blackwood sits firmly alongside the greats like Shirley Jackson and Patricia Highsmith' Araminta Hall

***

She was dead even before I became aware of her existence . . .

A child has been abducted from a sleepy Kent village, her face plastered across the media.

As the crime unleashes a wave of hysteria, the claustrophobic world of Rowan Anderson and his inscrutable wife begins to disintegrate. Consumed by her macabre fixation, Cressida is determined to save their sickly daughter, Mary Rose, from the same fate - and perhaps even from Rowan himself.

With caustic wit and pitch-black brilliance, Caroline Blackwood creates a skin-crawling - and utterly compulsive - story of repressed violence, female rage, and maternal obsession.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349019048
Number of pages: 240
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 22 mm

You may also be interested in...

Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Seventh Son
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Kairos
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: