Nobody's Victim: Fighting Psychos, Stalkers, Pervs and Trolls (Paperback)
  • Nobody's Victim: Fighting Psychos, Stalkers, Pervs and Trolls (Paperback)
zoom

Nobody's Victim: Fighting Psychos, Stalkers, Pervs and Trolls (Paperback)

(author), (author of contributions)
£9.99
Paperback 304 Pages / Published: 06/08/2020
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A rallying cry for privacy justice' New York Times

'We need more warriors like Carrie' Tarana Burke, founder of the MeToo movement


In an era of doxing, revenge porn and online stalking, the law is failing us. Tech companies are untouchable and often women are persecuted.

Carrie Goldberg built her law firm on battling these unprecedented cases - from stalkers haunting their exes through social media and dating apps, to schools suspending girls who report sexual assault, to trolls making fake bomb threats in their victims' names. Here, she tells her clients' stories alongside her own remarkable journey to become the lawyer she once needed.

Gripping and inspiring, Nobody's Victim shows how we must rewire the legal system for the age of the internet and gives us the weapons to fight back.

*Perfect for fans of She Said by Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, The Whisper Network by Chandler Baker and The Good Fight*

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349010526
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
We need more warriors like Carrie using the law to help take down sexual predators and the institutions that protect them -- Tarana Burke, founder of the #MeToo movement
In her memoir doubling as a rallying cry for privacy justice Nobody's Victim Goldberg admits that as with many people who have endured sexual harassment, it took time to tell her story in full, which she does now in chilling detail . . . Goldberg builds a convincing case that sexual privacy is a right that should be protected by federal law, much in the way that our personal, financial and medical information already is. If anyone can make that happen, it is she . . . Goldberg chronicles her battle for justice in a tone that is both take-no-prisoners and warmly gregarious . . . The cases she narrates are gut-wrenching, and her conversational approach lightens what could otherwise be an unbearably heavy load. It also makes accessible the complicated legal history leading to our current moment. -- Kate Bolick * New York Times *
In the age of doxxing, revenge porn, and misogynist trolls, this book is required reading. . . . In telling these wrenching stories, Goldberg gives voice to the legions who have experienced unthinkable violence * Esquire, Best Books of Summer 2019 *
This is an illuminating and significant window into the present state of victims' rights and a potentially powerful resource for readers dealing with abuse or harassment * Publishers Weekly *
Thoroughly researched and with shocking anecdotes from Carrie and her clients, Nobody's Victim is an indispensable work for anyone who wants to understand how we got here and, more importantly, what we need to do to fight back. Part memoir and part manifesto, Nobody's Victim is thoughtful, urgent and impossible to put down -- Nancy Jo Sales, author of New York Times bestseller American Girls: Social Media and the Secret Life of Teenagers and director of HBO's Swiped: Hooking up in the Digital Age
Nobody's Victim provides the raw honesty that we desperately need as we examine how the Internet age has upended everyday life. Only Carrie Goldberg could tell this powerful, compelling, and lucid story, which gives voice to so many people who have experienced unimaginable harms. As policymakers debate how to make the Internet--and the world--a safer place, I hope that Nobody's Victim will be at the top of their reading list -- Jeff Kosseff, author, The Twenty-Six Words That Created the Internet
Carrie Goldberg is a warrior against trolls and misogynists, as she bravely details in Nobody's Victim. The experiences of Carrie's clients may boil your blood--but beneath these known statistics is the reality that most harassment remains unseen, unreported, and legal. Nobody's Victim is a call to arms against abusers, and a reminder that survivors of gendered violence are not alone in their fight -- Audrey Gelman, CEO and Co-Founder of The Wing
A timely, necessary and uniquely authoritative book about the modern-day scourges of on-line harassment, stalking, sextortion, and non-consensual porn - and how to fight them. Goldberg's book is also a strikingly honest memoir and a riveting read. The stories she tells illuminate real horrors, as well as real bravery - her own and that of the people she represents -- Margaret Talbot * New Yorker *
Compelling and terrifying stories of assaults both physical and psychological . . . She believes that the MeToo movement has brought about a significant shift for victims of sexual assault and harassment -- Jane Mulkerrins * The Times *
After grappling with a 'psycho ex' of her own, lawyer Carrie Goldberg takes a stand for victims of online harassment, deepfakes and revenge porn -- Tauriq Moosa * Guardian *
Carrie Goldberg turned litigation into an act of protest. The formidable US lawyer has helped countless women in the fight against gendered violence, online stalking and revenge porn -- B. Cartmell * Huck Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

Hotel K
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Shankill Butchers
Added to basket
The Fatal Shore
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Gang War
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Papillon
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Executioner's Song
Added to basket
In Cold Blood
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Murder Capital
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Invention of Murder
Added to basket
A Prison Diary Volume II
Added to basket
The Anatomy of Violence
Added to basket
The Jigsaw Man
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Jimmy The Weed
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.