Emergency Contact (Paperback)
  • Emergency Contact (Paperback)
zoom

Emergency Contact (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 07/11/2019
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book' - Rainbow Rowell

------------------------------------------

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory - perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high school was a total non-event. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn't actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it's seventy-nine miles and a million light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind.

Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his bank account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch - via text - and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349003467
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Blushingly tender and piquant . . . Choi inserts timely issues like sexual assault, cultural appropriation and even DACA into her characters' intimate conversations, but it is her examination of digital vs. F2F communication that feels the most immediate - The New York Times Book Review

Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book. - Rainbow Rowell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fangirl

A tender, texting-based teen romance - Entertainment Weekly

Choi sensitively shows the evolution of two lonely, complicated people who slowly emerge from their shells to risk an intimate relationship. Her sharp wit and skillful character development . . . ensure that readers will feel that they know Penny and Sam inside and out before the gratifying conclusion. - Publisher's Weekly - starred review

Choi creates an up-to-date and realistic contemporary romance by upending the love story trope . . . A highly recommended purchase for the teens who enjoy realistic relationship fiction. Recommended for fans of Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything and Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park. - School Library Journal - starred review February 1, 2018

Readers will swoon over Emergency Contact. Choi has a knack for creating relatable characters, and this quirky, socially awkward love story will keep your cheeks rosy with every page . . . Emergency Contact is the perfect book for those who root for the underdog and believe that broken people can heal together. - RT Book Reviews March 1, 2018

Penny somehow broke down all my walls. Her tech became incidental and her voice endearing, and just like that, I was hooked. Even the texts feel very natural and elegantly woven into the narration.There is much more to both Sam and Penny than quirky character traits and witty repartee . . . While the story does traffic in the heart flutter of romance that is tantalizingly out of reach, its emotional core goes deep. - NPR

You may also be interested in...

Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
The Baddies
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Greenwild: The World Behind The Door
Added to basket
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Överlöde (Book 17)
Added to basket
If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Mind Full of Murder
Added to basket
The Blunders
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: No Brainer (Book 18)
Added to basket
Reckless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Bunny vs Monkey: Bunny Bonanza!
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Endearing read”

This book is sweet, easy to read and inoffensive. Choi writes effortlessly, making it easy to forget it's fiction. Young love in a realistic way. Very enjoyable.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: