Emergency Contact (Paperback)
  • Emergency Contact (Paperback)
zoom

Emergency Contact (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 07/11/2019
  • Publisher reprinting

Temporarily out of stock

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book' - Rainbow Rowell

------------------------------------------

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory - perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before.


For Penny Lee high school was a total non-event. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn't actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it's seventy-nine miles and a million light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind.

Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a cafe and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his bank account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch - via text - and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349003467
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Blushingly tender and piquant . . . Choi inserts timely issues like sexual assault, cultural appropriation and even DACA into her characters' intimate conversations, but it is her examination of digital vs. F2F communication that feels the most immediate * The New York Times Book Review *
Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book. * Rainbow Rowell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fangirl *

A tender, texting-based teen romance

* Entertainment Weekly *
Choi sensitively shows the evolution of two lonely, complicated people who slowly emerge from their shells to risk an intimate relationship. Her sharp wit and skillful character development . . . ensure that readers will feel that they know Penny and Sam inside and out before the gratifying conclusion. * Publisher's Weekly - starred review *
Choi creates an up-to-date and realistic contemporary romance by upending the love story trope . . . A highly recommended purchase for the teens who enjoy realistic relationship fiction. Recommended for fans of Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything and Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park. * School Library Journal - starred review February 1, 2018 *
Readers will swoon over Emergency Contact. Choi has a knack for creating relatable characters, and this quirky, socially awkward love story will keep your cheeks rosy with every page . . . Emergency Contact is the perfect book for those who root for the underdog and believe that broken people can heal together. * RT Book Reviews March 1, 2018 *
Penny somehow broke down all my walls. Her tech became incidental and her voice endearing, and just like that, I was hooked. Even the texts feel very natural and elegantly woven into the narration.There is much more to both Sam and Penny than quirky character traits and witty repartee . . . While the story does traffic in the heart flutter of romance that is tantalizingly out of reach, its emotional core goes deep. * NPR *

You may also be interested in...

Code Name Bananas
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Rumaysa: A Fairytale
Added to basket
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Cinderella Is Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Tom Gates 18: Ten Tremendous Tales (HB)
Added to basket
The Smeds and the Smoos
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Legendborn
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Spooky Stories
Added to basket
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Gilded Ones
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.