Things My Girlfriend and I Have Argued About (Paperback)
  • Things My Girlfriend and I Have Argued About (Paperback)
zoom

Things My Girlfriend and I Have Argued About (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 14/05/2003
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Pel Dalton's life is uneventful. He spends his days bluffing through an IT job in the university library, pillow-fighting with his two sons and finding new things to argue about with Ursula, his German girlfriend. But all this is about to change. When his boss suddenly disappears, and Pel steps reluctantly into his shoes, his life begins to spiral out of control. Stolen money, missing colleagues, ominous calls from Hong Kong, and something nasty beneath the university foundations are only the beginning of Pel's problems. Faced with embarrassing PTA meetings and a fridge that really needs defrosting, Pel is about to learn that sometimes the things that drive you crazy can be the only things that keep you sane.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9780340821152
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 251 g
Dimensions: 196 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Millington takes us to the place where relationships go bad, but never forgets the humour * Latest Homes *
A brilliantly written comedy. A novel that manages to be both funny and affectionate * Guardian *
Cringingly familiar, devastatingly funny . . . definitely one for fans of Nick Hornby and Tony Parsons * Mango Book Club website *
With his tear-inducing humour, Millington has tapped into the zeitgeist, Helen Fielding-style. * Vogue *
Laugh out loud funny, realistic, insightful and thoroughly entertaining * Courier *
While books that claim to be 'laugh-out-loud funny' are legion, ones such as this that actually are are rarer than molars on a Rhode Island Hen . . . There is little to say about coupledom that is not wittily and often movingly explored here. Sharply-written, brilliantly observed and absolutely hilarious. * Wendy Holden, Daily Mail *
A fantastic debut - a funny and heart-warming comedy about love, fatherhood and being in the wrong places at all the wrong times. * Essentials *
Highlights just how painful love can be and just how much its precious memories should be valued * The Week *
Insightful and wickedly funny. * Heat *
The plot escalates with all the shameless hyperbole needed to fuel a really good row . . . This is a very funny book. * Observer *
Compulsive reading . . . drenched in self-deprecating humour. * Metro *
Mil Millington's comic timing is spot-on in this laugh-out-loud warm-hearted and engaging novel. * Publishing News *
A very funny look at relationships. * Company *
It's impossible not to laugh out loud at the Anglo-German quips and world-weary observations that tumble off the page * Guardian *
A brilliant, thoroughly urbane hoot * The Big Issue in the North *
A funny and touching read * Hello *
Hilarious and insightful . . . Realistic and acerbic, this first novel is bound to receive a lot of attention. * Bookseller *
Mil Millington's legendary bust-ups with his long-term lover . . . have now spawned a madcap novel. * In Style *
It's really funny * Daily Express *
A surprise hit . . . a quirky little comedy. * Mirror *
Guaranteed to raise a smile * Irish News *
Funny . . . moves at a cracking pace * Sunday Mirror *
A comedy of relationships in all their confusions * Sunday Life *
I don't normally quote for fiction, but as clearly all Mil has done in the way of fiction here is change the name 'Mil' to the name 'Pel', I have no compunction whatsoever in pointing out that this is completely hilarious. * Jenny Colgan *

You may also be interested in...

Transient Desires
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
You and Me on Vacation
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.