Fallopian Rhapsody: The Story of the Lunachicks (Paperback)
  • Fallopian Rhapsody: The Story of the Lunachicks (Paperback)
zoom

Fallopian Rhapsody: The Story of the Lunachicks (Paperback)

(author), (author)
£14.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 24/06/2021
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

In the late 80s, three self-described "total freak" high school girls from Brooklyn found salvation in the sisterhood of friendship, refuge in the East Village. Soon after graduation, The Lunachicks signed with Blast First Records; Kim Gordon and Thurston Moore whisked them into the studio (it did not go well). And yet the Lunachicks fought for their space in the virtually boys-only world of punk and rock throughout the 90s. Their unforgettable costume-critiques of pop culture were as loud as their "Marsha[ll]" amps, the ferocity of their feminism as lasting as their pre-internet mythology. They toured with bands like Marilyn Manson, No Doubt, Rancid, and The Offspring. The played the Reading Festival with Nirvana and did the testosterone-fueled Warped tour (twice). Lauded by critics and feared by men, The Lunachicks annihilated social conventions from Brooklyn to Tokyo and somehow managed to survive, but not unscathed.

Fallopian Rhapsody chronicles becoming an established band and hearing industry dudes say, "We're not booking you because we already had a girl band play here this month," or "We're not playing your song on our radio show because we already have No Doubt in the rotation." Their group memoir will also recount their collapse, drug abuse and intervention, survival and reinvention. Filled with never-before-seen photos, illustrations, and ephemera from the band's private archive, this book will be a must-have for new and old fans alike.

For readers of Carrie Brownstein's Hunger Makes me a Modern Girl, Kim Gordon's Girl in a Band, and Chrissie Hynde's Reckless, Fallopian Rhapsody is the literary equivalent of diving headfirst into a moshpit and, slowly but surely, venturing up to the front of the stage.

Publisher: Hachette Books
ISBN: 9780306874482
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 229 x 152 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Beatles
Added to basket
£13.99
Paperback
Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
How Music Works
Added to basket
£17.99
Paperback
Bohemian Rhapsody
Added to basket
Anger is an Energy: My Life Uncensored
Added to basket
The Right Way to Read Music
Added to basket
Waging Heavy Peace
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The History of Jazz
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Hacienda
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Le Freak
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Miles: The Autobiography
Added to basket
Cider With Roadies
Added to basket
How to Play Guitar Step by Step
Added to basket
The AB Guide to Music Theory, Part I
Added to basket
I Am Ozzy
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.