Bad Habits (Paperback)
  • Bad Habits (Paperback)
zoom

Bad Habits (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 11/02/2021
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Spiky, irreverent and riotously funny, Meaney’s freewheeling story of a teen rebel attempting to stage a production of The Vagina Monologues in her strict Catholic boarding school tackles issues of feminism and free choice with a wonderful lightness of touch.

Hilarious, bold, sparky and surprising, this is the funniest feminist book you'll read all year.

Alex is a rebel with a purple fauxhawk and biker boots.

St Mary's Catholic School is a strict boarding school where she's currently trapped.

Despite trying everything she can to get expelled, she's still stuck with the nuns, the prudish attitude and the sexism.

Fed up with life inside the hallowed halls of St. Mary's, Alex decides to take matters into her own hands. She's going to stage the school's first ever production of The Vagina Monologues.

Which may be a challenge, as no one else at St Mary's can even bear to say the word 'vagina' out loud...A riotously funny novel about the importance of friendship and finding your voice, for fans of Holly Bourne, Derry Girls and Sex Education.

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
ISBN: 9780241407196
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 245 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Bad Habits is an absolute joy of a read, carefully balancing comedy ("I'm a feminist! I place bets on women's basketball games.") with a nuanced take on female friendships and being a teenage girl judged unfavourably by nuns, priests, peers and the world at large. Heart-warming and hilarious, this is a book you need on your shelves in these bleak times. * Irish Times *
This snarky feminist treat is properly laugh-out-loud funny -- The Bookseller
Funny, fierce and feminist, Bad Habits is full of big characters, big heart, and even bigger laughs. Flynn Meaney has somehow packed laughs into every line while still taking on everything from priests to the patriarchy. I loved it -- Beth Garrod

You may also be interested in...

There's a Bear in Your Book
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Ministry of Unladylike Activity
Added to basket
The World's Worst Pets
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Spaceboy
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
The Night We Got Stuck in a Story
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Breakfast Club Adventures
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Spooky Stories
Added to basket
A Flying Visit
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Cat Kid Comic Club 3: On Purpose
Added to basket
The Secret School Invasion
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Slime
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The First to Die at the End
Added to basket
The Christmasaurus
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The School for Good and Evil
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Winnie the Pooh Meets the Queen
Added to basket

“Funny and with impact”

This was such a great book and nothing like I expected.

I’m not a feminist 100% but do believe in equality.

This is unexpectedly set in a Catholic school of all places and you know what, it was the perfect setting.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Fun, fauxhawks and feminism”

In the principal’s office for the umpteenth time, Alex fails to get herself expelled. Fed up with nosy nuns and a culture of sexism, Alex and her purple fauxhawk make a last-ditch attempt to be sent home: she’s... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
MakexBelieve

“Brilliantly Funny!”

Fed up of her patriarchal Catholic boarding school Alex is desperate to get kicked out and return to California and life without nuns and curfews. But with her dad's money and influence keeping her in school no... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.