The Last Beekeeper (Paperback)
  • The Last Beekeeper (Paperback)
zoom

The Last Beekeeper (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 19/08/2021
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

‘Reminds me of Khaled Hosseini, poignant and heartwarming… Simply a beautiful story that had me reading until 3:30 in the morning’ Sarah, NetGalley

‘I am a friend of the bees. Like you.’
‘So, you have been waiting for me?’
‘The forest has been waiting for you.’

Pakistan, 1974: The secret-wreathed trees of Harikaya have always called to Hassan. He knows if he doesn’t find the last beekeeper and salvage a precious jar of his mythical black honey before the floods come, his mother will lose her sight.

But then he wins a scholarship to study with the state governor in Karachi amidst a brewing storm of political turmoil and simmering espionage.

His entire world is turned upside down when he meets Maryam, the governor’s niece visiting from London.

All the while the fate of his mother and his promise to the bees calls him back to the forest, and so he must decide: Maryam or the beekeeper, England or Pakistan, his head or his heart.

One of the most exciting debuts of 2021, this is a lyrical historical novel of family, friendship, and self-discovery exploring the power of choice in a changing world and love in communion with nature. Perfect for fans of Christy Lefteri, Yann Martel, and Monique Roffey.

Praise for The Last Beekeeper:

‘An absolutely beautifully written novel’ Eszter, NetGalley

‘Magnificent and magical’ Kimberly, NetGalley

‘I thoroughly enjoyed this book and really appreciate the representation it gives my community’ Resham, NetGalley

‘Magnificent! Perfect for a long summer’s day spent in a hammock’ Literary Redhead, NetGalley

‘A beautiful story of finding hope’ Zoe, NetGalley

‘This is Siya Turabi’s debut novel… I fell in love with her lyrical writing, her vivid descriptions and her tale of family and friendship as well as her love of nature and the expression of its magic’ Norma, NetGalley

‘The story has a lot of magical elements and sort of a fairy tale feeling at times as poetry and the bees envelop Hassan’ Sara, NetGalley

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008472887
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 290 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

‘Reminds me of Khaled Hosseini, poignant and heartwarming… Simply a beautiful story that had me reading it until 3:30 in the morning’ Sarah, NetGalley ‘I thoroughly enjoyed this book and really appreciate the representation it gives my community’ Resham, NetGalley ‘An absolutely beautifully written novel’ Eszter, NetGalley ‘Magnificent! Perfect for a long summer’s day spent in a hammock’ Literary Redhead, NetGalley ‘A beautiful story of finding hope’ Zoe, NetGalley ‘This is Siya Turabi’s debut novel… I fell in love with her lyrical writing, her vivid descriptions and her tale of family and friendship as well as her love of nature and the expression of its magic’ Norma, NetGalley ‘The story has a lot of magical elements and sort of a fairy tale feeling at times as poetry and the bees envelop Hassan’ Sara, NetGalley

You may also be interested in...

Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Fatherland
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
Spring Snow
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Enigma
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Zone of Interest
Added to basket
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
An Instance of the Fingerpost
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: