Book awards

At Waterstones we love book awards. With them we champion the best publishing of the year to our customers, who might otherwise never know of the literary gems promoted by these prizes.

The Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize is the luminary literary event of the year - speak the name to any veteran bookseller and watch their eyes twinkle in remenicance of the books recogised by the award which has run every year since 1969.

Find out more

The Orwell Prize

Split between books and journalism, since 1994 the Orwell Prize has recognised a sweeping spectrum of talent and opinion.

Find out more

The Cross Sports Book Awards

Since its inception in 2003 as the National Sporting Club Book Awards, the Cross Sports Book Awards forms one of the two principle celebrations of sports writing in Britain.

Find out more

The Waterstones Children's Book Prize

The Waterstones Children’s Book Prize, now in its 12th year, is the chance for our booksellers to champion new and emerging talent within three categories: Illustrated Books; Younger Fiction; and Older Fiction.

Find out more

The Costa Book Awards

Since 1971 The Costa Book Awards have delighted and dazzled readers by picking the most enjoyable books published each year for the five category shortlists - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book.

Find out more

The Waterstones Book of the Year

The Waterstones Book of The Year is unique in that nominations for the award are chosen solely by Waterstones booksellers. Every year, our booksellers nominate the book that caught their imagination more than any other, the one they believe truly stands out, in any genre.

Find out more