Blog

What to Read Next After Shuggie Bain: A Bookseller Recommends

Posted on 11th December 2020 by Mark Skinner

Douglas Stuart's Shuggie Bain has proven a hugely popular winner of this year's Booker Prize with many acclaiming the tough-but-tender debut as a modern classic. Iain Macleod, a bookseller at our Glasgow Sauchiehall Street shop, has been in contact with Douglas since the spring; ever since he devoured a proof copy of Shuggie Bain in one sitting in fact. Combining some of Douglas's favourite authors with his own vast bookselling expertise, Iain has selected ten books that carry a little of Shuggie's - and Glasgow's - spirit within their compelling pages.   

A Portrait of the Artist As A Young Man by James Joyce

Dubliners is more often mentioned in reviews of Shuggie Bain, I think because of the almost nostalgic, elegaic public house sketches of that book, but that is not this Glasgow. The central theme of Joyce’s first novel, namely taking flight from family and cultural blight, but maybe not shaking it off as you had hoped, is for me the reason why A Portrait is a book dealing in similar guilt and shame. In Agnes Bain, there is little saving grace and pains at saving face at every turn.

£6.99
Paperback
In stock
Available
Exploring the intellectual, moral and sexual coming-of-age of Stephen Dedalus, Joyce’s classic captures a young artist in search of himself amidst the deafening demands of his political, religious and cultural inheritance.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

How Late It Was, How Late by James Kelman 

The only preceding Scottish author to claim the Booker, James Kelman’s How Late It Was, How Late is the book on the shelf behind every Zoom interview this year’s winner has done. A vernacular masterpiece, this novel has emboldened every writer since with Glasgow in their heart and Glaswegian in their head, to put it down on the page as they see and hear and speak it. A book with a stone in its shoe. Try also Kelman’s Dirt Road, a bereaving father-son journey in the American south, that deals in healings that families can, and sometimes can’t, administer.

£9.99
Paperback
In stock
Available
The first Scottish novel to win the Booker Prize, Kellman’s vernacular masterpiece about a Glaswegian Sammy who finds himself out of luck in every way possible shines with rich characterisation and a unique spirit.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Docherty by William McIlvanney 

A cornerstone of 20th century Scottish fiction, the tagline reviews on Waterstones.com are pure perfection; they say it all, they say everything.

£9.99
Paperback
In stock
Available
A lyrical but achingly real portrait of working-class life, McIlvanney’s award-winning novel puts a miner’s family from a small Scottish town on the map of literature’s heroes.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Maggie & Me by Damian Barr 

For a history lesson in the political, social landscape of the Bain clan’s Glasgow, Damian Barr’s autobiography of growing up in the spite of Thatcher's Britain is an essential companion piece. 

£10.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
Sharply observed and intricately written, Damien Barr’s autobiography is both a love song to the power of stories and a frank portrait of growing up gay in Thatcher’s Britain.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Motherwell by Deborah Orr 

As with Barr, Deborah Orr’s searing work is both the brainfreeze and the clammy familiarity of the ditty and whip of the ice-cream van of a particular collective, west coast youth.

£16.99
Hardback
Out of stock
The final work from the award winning and inspirational journalist, Motherwell interrogates the psychological inheritance that we receive from our parents and how close family ties can prevent us from achieving cherished goals.

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

1982, Janine by Alasdair Gray 

As sure as Shuggie Bain will be spoken of in the same breath as Lanark as a Glasgow classic, this particular Alasdair Gray novel shares an almost unrelenting depression with the addictive blueprint of Stuart’s debut. There is little affection in Jock McLeish’s pornographic long, last night of the soul, but the power and inventive redemption of literature is the fire at the desert end. Gray’s loom is the shadow in which every Glasgow writer sits.

£10.99
Paperback
In stock
Available
A man about to end his life in a hotel room contemplates everything from politics to pornography in this vividly experimental and darkly humorous portrait of masculine angst.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

The Discomfort of Evening by Marieke Lucas Rijneveld 

A book as-if written by a child about not understanding the world, but in that visceral innocence of youth understanding it better than anyone. If Shuggie Bain is a film by Ken Loach, then this – winner of the International Booker Prize 2020 – is one for David Cronenberg to direct.

£8.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
Exploring life in a restrictively religious home through the eyes of ten-year-old Jas, Rijneveld's International Booker Prize-winning debut carries its heavy themes with confidence, in wildly beautiful prose.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Trumpet by Jackie Kay 

Jackie Kay, the Scottish Makar, is another writer that Douglas mentions in most interviews. I’ve not read her fiction, but her poetry is wonderful. Trumpet has a queer theme, and this quote from the book puts it firmly in Shuggie Bain’s camp: ‘a moving story of a shared life founded on an intricate lie, of loving deception and lasting devotion, and of the intimate workings of the human heart’.

£8.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
A fictionalised account of the transgender jazz artist Billy Tipton, Jackie Kay’s prose debut is both a fascinating window onto a bygone age and a touching examination of a life of man born in a woman’s body.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

The Complete Novellas by Agnes Owens 

An inexcusably looked-over writer for decades, Agnes Owens’s short fiction is of humdrum, hard-lived lives of honest poverty, pregnancy, booze and the bruises to prove it. Championed by Alasdair Gray, and now Douglas, she should no longer be the best-kept secret of those who know.

£14.99
Paperback
5+ in stock
Available
Owens’s guileless prose strips bare the experiences of Scotland’s working classes in these five powerful novellas that brim with candour, tragedy, pathos and humour.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

The Young Team by Graeme Armstrong 

Irvine Welsh in one corner, Darren McGarvey the other, this is a story that could be happening just one town over from Shuggie’s, in a tower-block just round the corner. Trancey prose and gangland poetry graffiti the pages of this incendiary debut from a writer who is a firework through the literary letterbox.

£14.99
Hardback
Out of stock
A searing story of teenage gangs, dead end towns and the shifting threat of latent violence, The Young Team is as visceral and important as fiction gets.

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

 

Comments

There are currently no comments.