Blog

Weird and Wonderful Sisters: The Best Witch Lit Books

Posted on 3rd February 2023 by Mark Skinner

From feminist reimaginings of historic witch trials to supernatural fantasy and gleefully gothic romance, witchcraft - whether real or imagined - has become one of the hottest themes in contemporary fiction. We've hand-picked twenty terrific titles ranging from beloved modern classics to the latest bestsellers that will cast their own unique spell on you.    

£14.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
A woman fleeing an abusive relationship heads for Weyward Cottage and makes a startling discovery about her ancestors in this bewitching debut perfect for fans of Bridget Collins.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£16.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Dealing with loss and desiring revenge, two women join forces in Logan’s mesmeric dark tale set in a richly drawn world where women grasp at power through witchcraft, poisons and sexuality.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£14.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Two young women set out to rescue an accused witch held captive at the fortress of Vardo in Bergman's electrifying and empowering debut about the power of female solidarity.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£8.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
At once intricately plotted and richly drawn, the opening book of Harkness' bestselling All Souls trilogy blends thrilling dark academia mystery with racy paranormal romance as an Oxford historian's discovery turns her well-ordered world upside down.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£9.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Taking a real-life witch trial as her inspiration, Hargrave’s adult debut weaves an atmospheric tale of self-sufficient womanhood and sexual suspicion in a tight-knit island community during the seventeenth century.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£9.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
A cursed lighthouse and vanishing islanders infuse this deft gothic chiller with palpable menace, as Luna's missing sister reappears after two decades completely unchanged from the child she had been at the time.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£8.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Strikingly evoking the heartland of seventeenth-century industrial Lancashire, Stacey Halls’ accomplished debut is a haunting novel of two women struggling to fight against the expectation and superstition of their age.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£14.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
The first in a supernatural new series from the author of Wonderland, Her Majesty's Royal Coven follows a top secret government department of witches and the deadly threat to the nation that they must confront.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£16.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Taking inspiration from real-life seventeenth-century East Anglian witch hunts and chronicling their treacherous effect on the community, this dark and spellbinding debut announces the arrival of an exciting new voice in fiction.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£7.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
The blazingly original author of Luckenbooth delivers another ferociously intelligent and mesmerising tour de force featuring a condemned sixteenth-century witch and a mysterious visitor from the future who dangles the tantalising prospect of escape.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£9.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
From the imaginative power that summoned the global bestseller The Song of Achilles, Orange Prize-winning author Madeline Miller returns with an electrifying take on Greek myth’s most misunderstood deity: the proud and vengeful Circe.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£9.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
A beloved precursor to the 'witch lit' genre and the inspiration for a major Hollywood movie, Hoffman's lightly gothic saga brings two magical sisters back together after many years in a resounding tribute to family, friendship and the enduring power of love.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£8.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
A visceral and gripping debut novel from poet A. K. Blakemore, The Manningtree Witches takes the reader into the midst of the Puritan regime and harrowing witch trials of seventeenth-century England.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£16.99
Hardback
5+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
A darkly atmospheric debut, Thomas' Civil War-set page-turner centres on aspiring playwright-turned-witchfinder Nicholas Pearce and the moral dilemma his unique and supernatural ability burdens him with.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£9.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
With breathtaking world-building and remarkably assured plotting, Thomas’s bewitching debut sees a girl burdened by her magical abilities descend into a London filled with the supernatural and enchanted.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£8.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Whispers of witchcraft and sinister revelations of an old shipwreck fill the life of Thomas Treadwater – a reluctant soldier and man of reason – with dark unrest in Andrews’ mesmeric historical mystery set amidst the English Civil War.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£16.99
Hardback
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
A gloriously fresh reimagining of the legend of Baba Yaga, this stunning debut recasts the crooked witch of the Slavic fairy tale as a wise and strong woman unafraid to take on a ruthless ruler.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£9.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
The brooding, pervasive aura of the Edwardian Suffolk fens permeates every nook and cranny of Michelle Paver’s grippingly gothic historic tale of madness, witchcraft and family enmity, as a freshly discovered painted medieval devil awakes supernatural forces.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£9.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Witchcraft and suffragism combine in Harrow’s deftly imagined gothic fantasy, as three New Salem sisters begin to use supernatural folklore to help them win the vote.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£16.99
Hardback
Out of stock
Orphan Mika arrives at the remote Nowhere House, filled with mysterious residents, to find something she didn’t realise she was looking for in Mandanna’s gorgeous fantasy romance drenched in sparkling magic.

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


Comments

There are currently no comments.

env: aptum
branch: