We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.


Waterstones wins British Sports Book Retailer of the Year

Waterstones wins British Sports Book Retailer of the Year

Our own Richard Humphreys and Paul McGonigal got to share a podium with Jimmy Connors and other winners at last night's British Sports Book Awards.

Posted on 22nd May 2014 by Dan Lewis
Tennis ace Jimmy Connors was once again a winner last night as his autobiography, The Outsider, won Autobiography of the Year at the British Book Awards.

The awards, now in their twelfth year, also recognised Michael Calvin’s tale of talent-spotters, The Nowhere Men, as Football Book of the Year; Brough Scott's Henry Cecil: Trainer of Genius, as Horse Racing Book of the Year; Indian cricket corruption exposé The Great Tamasha by James Astill, as Cricket Book of the Year; and Simon Halliday's autobiography, City Centre, as Rugby Book of the Year.

Tim Lewis won this year's New Writer award for his Land of Second Chances, whilst the title of Illustrated Book of the Year went to Chris Power for the beautiful photography collection Incredible Waves: An Appreciation of Perfect Surf.

The Outstanding Sports Writing Award went to Harriet Tuckey for her account of her father Griffith Pugh's staggering mountaineering adventure, Everest: The First Ascent.

For the trade, Best Publicity Campaign went to Karen Geary and Rebecca Mundy of Hodder for their work promoting Alex Ferguson's autobiography whilst Waterstones won Best Sports Book Retailer.

Collecting the award, Waterstones buyers Richard Humphreys and Paul McGonigal said: "Being named the British Sports Book Award Retailer of the year is a huge honour and a testament to the work both publishers and retailers have put in to guaranteeing the future of the book shop in the high street. We’re proud to be doing our part, thank you all for helping us along with this award."

The eight book category winners will now be put to an online public vote to determine the Overall British Sports Book of the Year, at www.britishsportsbookawards.co.uk, with the winner announced  in June.