Blog

The Waterstones Round Up: August's Best Children's Books

Posted on 11th July 2022 by Mark Skinner

The siren song of the summer holidays is upon us and it's never been more important to make sure the children have got something good to read. Fortunately, August brings a host of fantastic books for all ages, from the further adventures of a very naughty Norse trickster god to a slice of dark fantasy perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, and from a magical picture book by the new Waterstones Children's Laureate to a fresh series of intergalactic escapades from the authors of the Dragon Realm stories. So after trees have been climbed and pools paddled in, break out the books this August.      


 
£7.99 £6.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
UK delivery within 2 weeks
The sequel to former Waterstones Children's Book of the Month Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good finds the naughty but loveable trickster falsely accused of stealing Thor's hammer.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£12.99 £10.99
Hardback
In stock
UK delivery within 5 days
The second instalment of astronaut Tim Peake's sci-fi children's series finds Danny embroiled in a race against time to rescue Jamila, who is being hunted not just by the alien Swarm but human scientists as well.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£7.99 £6.99
Paperback
In stock
UK delivery within 5 days
Alex and his motley assortment of companions are on a mission to break a water dragon out of its aquarium prison in the first instalment of a wonderfully imaginative fantasy series.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£7.99 £6.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
The author of the Max the Detective Cat series spins a delightful tale of mystery and espionage on a famous French locomotive, as our resourceful heroine vows to unmask an enemy agent.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£7.99
Paperback
5+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
Bursting with period atmosphere and theatrical excitement, this gripping mystery from the author of The Boy Who Flew sets a foundling child on the trail of a cold-blooded killer, hidden amongst a troupe of actors.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£7.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
Maz Evans' side-splitting Vi Spy trilogy concludes with an intergalactic adventure to bring down Vi's nemesis – whilst her gran is seriously ill back on Earth.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£7.99 £6.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
The first instalment in the stunning Umbra Tales series, Mia and the Lightcasters unfolds a compelling quest to reach the City of Light to find the titular heroine's missing parents.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£6.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
The sequel to comedian Rosie Jones' warm-hearted and wildly funny children's debut finds Edie – a schoolgirl with cerebral palsy – trying to turn a nightmare school trip into something positive.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
 
£12.99
Hardback
Not available
Currently unavailable
The rulers of six cursed realms play a deadly game but love complicates everything in Aster’s darkly thrilling, unputdownable YA fantasy that has taken BookTok by storm.

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£8.99 £7.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
Centred on a dangerous grimoire and an age-old conspiracy, Rogerson's bewitching slice of alchemical fantasy steeped in sorcery and dark magic is a sly, playful and gloriously gothic YA adventure.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£7.99 £6.99
Paperback
We can order this from the publisher
UK delivery within 2 weeks
A 1920s-themed murder mystery party goes off the rails in this unputdownable and irresistibly clever prequel to Holly Jackson’s YA crime hit A Good Girl's Guide to Murder, brimming with deception, intrigue and fiendish plotting.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£8.99 £7.49
Paperback
We can order this from the publisher
UK delivery within 6-8 weeks
In a desperate bid to evade her future as a Soul Severer, Deina embarks upon a deadly quest in the Underworld to retrieve Orpheus' dead wife Eurydice in this immersive reimagining of Greek myth.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£8.99
Paperback
We can order this from the publisher
UK delivery within 2 weeks
Determined to snare her dream date, Liz is forced to enlist the help of her obnoxious – if rather hot – next door neighbour in Painter's fun and feelgood romcom.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£8.99 £7.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
Following the captivating and conflicted Ravkan ruler Nikolai Lantsov in the bewitching world of the Grishaverse, this powerful tale of desire and revenge brings the King of Scars duology to a majestic conclusion.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£8.99 £7.49
Paperback
We can order this from the publisher
UK delivery within 2 weeks
Drawing from Persian mythology and filled with romance, danger and subterfuge, the first part of an epic new fantasy trilogy from the author of the Shatter Me series spins a glorious story of a crown prince, a prophecy and the eyes of a young servant girl he cannot get out of his mind.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£8.99 £7.49
Paperback
5+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
The rip-roaring, side-splitting sci-fi adventure cycle from bestselling authors Kaufman and Kristoff concludes in typically irresistible style as the assorted misfits of Squad 312 face their deadliest foe yet in a battle to save the galaxy.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

 
£12.99
Hardback
5+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
Exquisitely told and boasting beautifully evocative illustrations from Richard Johnson, Coelho's highly imaginative and deeply personal tale of a trio of children who discover the magic inside their tower block is a powerful call for integrating urban and natural spaces.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£6.99 £5.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
The latest cuddly addition in Tom Fletcher’s delightful interactive Who’s In Your Book? series helps little ones to wander off to the land of nod through the adorable story of a sleepy bear’s bedtime routine.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£7.99
Paperback
In stock
UK delivery within 5 days
Bringing the fun of choose-your-own-adventure stories to the world of picture books, the first in Coyle and Walker-Parker's interactive series sets up three alternative tales based around pirates, aliens and the jungle.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£6.99
Paperback
5+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
When Sid forgets to cover his nose when he sneezes, all kinds of chaotic events ensue in Philip and Reed's inventive and hilarious picture book.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£7.99
Paperback
Coming soon - 04/08/2022
Awaiting publication
When unicorns descend on the shore near Margaret’s new home and leave behind one of their babies, a magical adventure begins in this adorable picture book about the power of friendship.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£6.99
Paperback
In stock
UK delivery within 5 days
Following football-loving foster child Charlie’s path, Strong and Tough is an empowering tale of resilience, dreams and ambition from the ten-year-old Premier League Young Writer of the Year winner Rico Hinson-King, brilliantly illustrated by Nick Sharratt.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£12.99
Board book
In stock
UK delivery within 5 days
A guaranteed hit with the little ones, this joyous board book is filled with a cast of furry characters who make noises when tickled, with a grand musical finale waiting at the end.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout



 
£6.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
From the authors of the Dragon Realm and Sam Wu series comes a rip-roaring intergalactic adventure featuring a gadget-obsessed girl who gets sucked into her favourite sci-fi TV show.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£7.99 £6.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
Things are getting weird at St Bartholomew's Primary with the arrival of some new kids with too-shiny shoes in the latest romp from the queen of supremely silly school stories.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£5.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
UK delivery within 5 days
The latest side-splitting instalment in The Worst Class in the World series sees more madcap moments unfold, as another zany altercation between 4B and Headteacher Mrs Bottomley-Blunt springs up.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


£6.99
Paperback
In stock
UK delivery within 5 days
When Lin the panda’s best friend is stolen from the zoo, a fierce and funny quest to find Fu ensues in this entertaining tale from the author and illustrator duo behind the Dave Pigeon books.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Comments

There are currently no comments.