425 items

The Waterstones Children's Book Prize Blog: Chloe Savage

As we continue to celebrate the winners of this year's Waterstones Children's Book Prize, we are delighted to share a piece from Chloe Savage whose picture book The Search for the Giant Arctic Jellyfish was chosen as the winner of the Best Illustrated Book category. In this exclusive piece, Chloe talks about the book that made her a writer and illustrator.

The Waterstones Children's Book Prize Blog: Pari Thomson

As we continue to celebrate the winners of this year's Waterstones Children's Book Prize, we are delighted to share a piece from Pari Thomson whose debut novel Greenwild: The World Behind the Door was chosen as the overall winner. In this exclusive piece, Pari talks about the joy of reading and the book that made her a writer.

Tom Percival on Creativity and Resilience

In his new novel for young readers, The Wrong Shoes, Tom Percival – the award-winning author-illustrator of the beloved Big Bright Feelings series – tells the heartwarming story of a boy called Will, a talented artist preoccupied by his family's financial situation who finds solace, joy and hope in creativity and friendship. In this exclusive piece, Tom talks about the background to the book, and the importance of resilience in creativity and creativity in remaining resilient.

£1 of each copy sold of The Wrong Shoes will go to supporting the National Literacy Trust that is doing wonderful work across the UK to encourage a culture of reading for pleasure. 

Jordan Lees on the Inspiration Behind The Whisperwicks

Fans of Skandar and Impossible Creatures will be rubbing their hands with glee at the prospect of The Whisperwicks, an enchanting new middle-grade fantasy from debut author Jordan Lees. In this exclusive piece, Jordan discusses the giants of literature who influenced his writing, how the world of Wreathenwold took shape and the importance of bookshops to the novel.  

Christopher Edge on the Children's Books That Would Make Great Movies

A fast-paced fantasy adventure which sees four friends sucked into the escapades taking place on a cinema screen, Black Hole Cinema Club is a rip-roaring love letter to both literature and film from the author of The Many Worlds of Albie Bright. In this exclusive piece, Christopher Edge reflects on the children's books that he reckons would make great cinema.   

Tom Vaughan on the Inspiration Behind Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero

A rip-snorting comedy for all fans of Loki and Who Let the Gods Out?, Tom Vaughan's Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero finds an ordinary schoolboy with a rather famous name trying to live up to the achievements of a mythical hero. In this exclusive piece, Tom discusses why he wanted to write about the gods of Greek myth and how he hit upon his story.      

Joseph Coelho and Fiona Lumbers on the Magic of Gardening

Luna Loves Gardening, the spellbinding sixth entry in the Luna Loves... picture book series, finds our adorable heroine discovering the untold wonders of her local community garden. In this exclusive piece, the author and Waterstones Children's Laureate Joseph Coelho and illustrator supreme Fiona Lumbers discuss their own childhood experiences of gardening and the natural world. 

The Waterstones Round Up: April's Best Children's Books

From the triumphant return of Skandar to more adorable adventures in Acorn Wood, explore our hand-picked selection of April's best children's books.

The Waterstones Podcast - Sam Sedgman

A leap from Big Ben into a time-bending adventure.

The Waterstones Round Up: March's Best Children's Books

With spring just around the corner, discover a host of fresh adventures for children of all ages with our brilliant selection of books published this month.

Hafsah Faizal on Colonization and A Tempest of Tea

A dazzling mix of dark fantasy and crime thriller, Hafsah Faizal's compelling YA novel A Tempest of Tea features bloodthirsty vampires, a tea room that hides nefarious purposes and an audacious heist perpetrated by a winning collection of misfits - all in the smoky atmosphere of Victorian England. In this exclusive piece, Hafsah reveals how the injustices of the era the book is set in informed the tone and subject matter of the narrative.

Siobhan McDermott on the Chinese Myth and Folklore That Inspired Paper Dragons

An incredible adventure to an underwater realm, Siobhan McDermott's Paper Dragons – our Children's Book of the Month for February – follows orphan Zhi Ging as she becomes an apprentice to the Immortals. In this exclusive piece, the author talks about growing up in Hong Kong and how the presence of Chinese folklore and mythology in her childhood sowed the seeds of the story she tells in Paper Dragons. 

env: aptum
branch: