Blog

Robin Stevens's Favourite Reads of 2020

Posted on 23rd November 2020 by Anna Orhanen

Robin Stevens is the author of the phenomenally popular Murder Most Unladylike Mystery series, recently brought to a maginicent conclusion with Death Sets Sail. We are delighted to have Stevens share with us the top five of the books for young readers that she's enjoyed most this year.

Anisha, Accidental Detective by Serena Patel

It’s been really exciting to see so many excellent young detective series launched this year, and for me this is one of the best. Anisha’s Aunty Bindi is about to get married – until her groom mysteriously disappears. Anisha finds the ransom note, and realises that it’s up to her to solve the clues and save the day. This book is hilarious, charming and has an extremely satisfying ending – perfect for budding detectives aged 6+.

£5.99
Paperback
5+ in stock
Available
Desperate to save the big Indian wedding of the year, Anisha gets dragged into a madcap kidnap plot involving lobsters, grannies and mysterious chauffeurs. The first of a hilarious new series by Serena Patel, Anisha, Accidental Detective is a feelgood joy.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


Mickey and the Animal Spies by Anne Miller

If you’re shopping for a young reader who loves puzzles, you can’t go wrong with this book. Anne Miller is a QI Elf, and so unsurprisingly her debut novel is packed with facts, codes and exciting clues. It’s the story of Mickey, a girl who discovers a secret spy agency run by animals. She’s plunged into a world of jewel thieves, dognapping and adorable furry detectives. Delightfully illustrated by Becka Moor, this will be a hit with 6+ aspiring spies.

£6.99
Paperback
In stock
Available
Mysterious messages found on the bus lead Mickey into the world of clues, code-breaking and animal spies in this delightful adventure bursting with puzzles.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


Mic Drop by Sharna Jackson

Last year’s High Rise Mystery was a stand-out of the children’s crime fiction genre, winning the younger fiction category of the Waterstones Prize. This year’s follow-up is just as fresh, funny and sharp, following sibling detective duo Nik and Norva as they investigate another murder on their London estate, the death of rising star TrojKat. This series is my go-to recommendation for any 8+ fan of my books – the characters leap off the page and the mystery is twisty enough to puzzle even the smartest detective.

£6.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
Embark on another compelling whodunit from the author of High Rise Mystery, as a pop star meets a suspicious end and NSquared take the case.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by LD Lapinski

We all need a bit of escapism this year, and the first book in LD Lapinski’s new fantasy adventure series fits the bill perfectly. The story of Flick, who stumbles on a mysterious, magical travel agency that can send you to other worlds, it’s brilliantly inventive and extremely enjoyable. There’s a central mystery to solve – a missing father and a threat to the magic of the universe – but it’s also just fun to follow Flick and her new friend Jonathan to a series of fascinating worlds. The second book in the series is coming next spring. 8+

£7.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
Perfect for fans of P.G. Bell or Anna James, Lapinski’s fantastical adventure yarn features Flick Hudson, a twelve year old girl on a desperately dangerous mission for the Strangeworlds magical travel society.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


A Kind of Spark by Elle McNicoll

The Waterstones Children’s Book of the Month for October, I’m so glad to see this book getting the attention and praise it deserves. 11 year old Addie is horrified to learn that her Scottish hometown was the location of historic witch trials. She sees a connection between the murdered women’s difference and her own autism, and embarks on a quest to get a memorial for them that also becomes a way of proving her own worth and brilliance. A beautifully written and deeply moving book that’s hard to put down, readers 8+ will be swept up by Addie’s story.

£6.99 £5.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
When Addie decides to memorialise the victims of the historic witch trials that took place in her hometown, she hopes to change the way her neighbours see her, in this beautifully judged and compassionate novel.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Comments

There are currently no comments.