Blog

Joanna Cannon Recommends Her Top 5 Reads of 2019

Posted on 11th December 2019 by Mark Skinner

With her unflinching medical memoir Breaking and Mending, Joanna Cannon delivered a trenchant critique of the failings of the NHS as well as a heartfelt tribute to the dedication and kindness of its frontline staff. Here, Joanna presents her favourite reads of 2019.

The Wild Remedy by Emma Mitchell

A beautifully illustrated journey through the year, focussing on how nature and the outdoors can help our mental well being. Written with wisdom and kindness, and centred on Emma Mitchell’s own experiences, this is for anyone who loves learning more about the world around us, and for those who seek a way to help an unquiet mind. This book is a joy to own, and I cannot think of anyone whose life would not be a better place for reading it.

£14.99
Hardback
5+ in stock
Available
Advancing chronologically throughout the year, The Wild Remedy explores the bountiful wonders of nature with specific reference to how the great outdoors can aid mental wellbeing.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

The Most Difficult Thing by Charlotte Philby

Perfect for dark winter nights by the fire, The Most Difficult Thing explores how easily a life can unravel and questions how much any of us might be prepared to sacrifice for the greater good. Charlotte Philby has the perfect heritage to write a spy thriller and this dark, and twisty novel opens the door into a new generation of elegantly structured espionage.

£12.99
Hardback
We can order this from the publisher
Usually dispatched within 10 working days
Effortlessly blending the intimate threat of the domestic thriller with the high stakes tension of the finest espionage novel, Charlotte Philby’s debut provides just the kind of authentic suspense you would expect from the granddaughter of notorious double agent, Kim Philby.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

The Heartland by Nathan Filer

Occasionally, writing can shift an entire perspective on a topic and The Heartland has that very ability. Exploring the subject of ‘mental illness’ through a series of personal stories, Nathan Filer combines his experience as a mental health nurse and his skill as a storyteller to challenge the very definition and architecture of mental health. An absolute must read for anyone interested in illness, wellness, and the power of words.

£14.99
Hardback
We can order this from the publisher
Usually dispatched within 10 working days
The bestselling author of The Shock of the Fall is also a former mental health nurse, and Heartland is his attempt to convey the complexity and nuance surrounding that most misunderstood of conditions – schizophrenia. Written with the grace of a novelist and the clarity of an expert, this is a profoundly important and timely work.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

If Only I Could Tell You by Hannah Beckerman

Christmas is traditionally a time for families, and this beautifully written novel couldn’t be more appropriate for the festive season. Navigating family dynamics, unspoken secrets, and three generations of strong women, Hannah Beckerman delivers a story which will melt even the coldest Christmas heart and a main character who will remain with you for a very long time.

£7.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
A poignant, heartbreaking novel ideal for fans of Jojo Moyes and Marian Keyes, If Only I Could Tell You details the trials and tribulations of Audrey and her family; estranged and divided by a bitter, long-held secret and a life-changing choice made thirty years previously.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Bird Therapy by Joe Harkness

When I feel stressed, I sit by my bird table because it soothes my soul. Joe Harkness took a similar stance following a breakdown in 2013 and after discovering bird watching had such a positive effect on his mental health, he decided to write about his experience to help others. With a foreword by Chris Packham, this kind and clever yellow book is filled with practical advice, as well as Joe’s own story. A perfect example of how the smallest things can make the biggest difference.

£14.99
Hardback
Temporarily unavailable
Currently unavailable to order
A touching, endlessly surprising little book about the benefits of avian encounters on mental wellbeing, Bird Therapy recounts Harkness’ experience of breakdown and the subtle way in which ornithology began to raise his spirits once more. Tender, charming and ultimately uplifting, this is an understated gem.

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


Comments

There are currently no comments.