Blog

Holly Bourne's Favourite Reads of 2017

Posted on 17th November 2017 by Martha Greengrass
The author of the hilarious anti-romantic comedy novel It Only Happens in the Movies, Holly Bourne recommends her top reads of 2017.

Ahh, there were so many books I loved this year! I’ve just about narrowed it down to my top 5. JUST. 

£7.99
Paperback
Out of stock
The stunning new novel from the bestselling author of Beautiful Broken Things is a love story about the times when a whisper is as good as a shout. Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life but Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. Steffi finds that she does have a voice, and that she's falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it.

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
 

This love story between a girl with selective mutism, and a boy who is deaf melts your heart in all the right places. It's also one of the best depictions of social anxiety I've ever read. 

£18.99
Hardback
Out of stock
An extraordinarily intimate memoir of the the brushes with death that have made Maggie O'Farrell the woman and the writer she is today, for readers of The Last Act of Love and When Breath Becomes Air.

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
 

This book is just brilliant, just brilliant, just brilliant. As Maggie recounts her seventeen brushes with death, you start to cherish not just her incredible mastery of words, but also your own life and how precariously precious it is.



£12.99
Hardback
Temporarily unavailable
Currently unavailable to order
Eleanor Oliphant has learned how to survive - but not how to live. She leads a simple life. She wears the same clothes to work every day, eats the same meal deal for lunch every day and buys the same two bottles of vodka every weekend. Eleanor Oliphant is happy. Nothing is missing from her carefully timetabled life. Except, sometimes, everything. 'Heartwrenching and wonderful' - Nina Stibbe

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
 

An incredible, literary, yet hilarious and totally-accessible study of loneliness and how a little bit of kindness can have a massive impact. 

£7.99
Paperback
In stock
Available
Uni beckons. Phoebe can't wait, especially since her crush from school will be there. But Luke's oblivious, still reeling from the fallout of the break-up with his ex. Thrown head first into a world of new friends, parties and social media disasters - can Phoebe and Luke survive the year, let alone find each other?
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
 

Hands down the funniest book I read this year. This anti-love story set in Freshers term at university will have you peeing yourself laughing, while it also examines darker themes such as toxic masculinity, rape culture, and loneliness. 

£7.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
The 2018 Waterstones Children's Book Prize winner is an incendiary piece of work, which tackles race, violence and poverty with such raw honesty and fearlessness as to mark a new page in the evolution of the YA novel. Unflinching and immensely powerful, The Hate U Give speaks to twenty-first century society as few other books can hope to.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
 

Sometimes the right book is written at precisely the right time, perfectly capturing a moment or movement, and THUG is this book. A masterclass in voice, this book will make you simmer with the sort of anger that can really change things for the better. Not to be missed. 

Comments

There are currently no comments.