Blog

Heartwarming Bookshop and Library Fiction for Booklovers

Posted on 11th January 2024 by Mark Skinner

From feel-good romance to bewitching fantasy, you just can't beat a great novel set in a bookshop or library. Indulge your brazen bibliophile with our hand-picked favourites.  

For bibliophiles there is a special kind of delight in reading novels revolving around bookshops and libraries. Having our abiding love for these literary emporia reflected in the careful, evocative descriptions of authors who clearly adore them as well feels like membership of a special club - as though these books were written for us alone.

In recent years some of the most heartwarming and life-affirming bookshop and library tales have come from East Asia, with the hugely successful Days at the Morisaki Bookshop delivering a universal message about the healing power of books, What You Are Looking for is in the Library emphasising how reading can build bonds within communities and Welcome to the Hyunam-Dong Bookshop portraying the bookstore as a haven of refuge from a frantic and stressful world.

£10.99 £9.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
A broken-hearted young woman finds emotional refuge in the world of her uncle’s second-hand bookshop in this magical, thoroughly heartwarming tale about the healing power of reading, perfect for fans of Toshikazu Kawaguchi and Sayaka Murata.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£12.99
Hardback
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Perfect reading for fans of Before the Coffee Gets Cold, Aoyama's heartwarming novel introduces Tokyo's most enigmatic librarian and his mission to soothe the souls of five visitors with books.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£14.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Perfect reading for fans of Toshikazu Kawaguchi and Hiro Arikawa, Welcome to the Hyunam-dong Bookshop is an irresistibly sweet-natured tale revolving around the quirky owner and customers of the titular literary emporium.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

That said, there are also plenty of English-language novels about bookshops that can tug wonderfully on the heartstrings. Gabrielle Zevin, author of the mega-selling former Waterstones Fiction Book of the Month Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, delivered the irresistible story of a misanthropic bookshop owner whose cold exterior is breached by the unexpected arrival of a toddler in The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry. Meanwhile, Jenny Colgan has made something of a career out of unspooling uplifting romantic comedies with a bookshop slant - from the festive The Christmas Bookshop and Midnight at the Christmas Bookshop to the more summery vibe of The Bookshop on the Shore and The Bookshop on the Corner

Venturing a little further afield, Nina George's bestselling The Little Paris Bookshop is a gorgeously comforting read about a book barge on the Seine (could a book about books get any more romantic...?) originally written in George's native German.

£9.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
The established YA author slips seamlessly over to adult fiction with a beautifully compassionate story about a cantankerous bookstore owner, an abandoned toddler and the joy of reading that never dissolves into sentimentality or mawkishness.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£9.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
From the author of Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe comes a delightfully cosy romcom about a former librarian who finds a new lease of life as the owner of a bookshop bus in the Scottish Highlands.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£9.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Beautifully judged and as comforting as the warmest embrace, George’s story of a bookseller-cum-counsellor who prescribes literature to lift the soul is a tender, touching treat.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

As well as public popularity, books about bookshops and libraries are also a hit with the critics and the awards panels. One of the most memorable Women's Prize for Ficton winners of recent years - Ruth Ozeki's The Book of Form and Emptiness - is an exquisitely written and capacious novel of ideas centred on the concept of the library-as-refuge-from-a-troubling world. Louise Erdrich's Booker Prize-shortlisted The Sentence, meanwhile, interweaves a ghost story with a study of redemption as a convict-turned-bookshop employee investigates a haunting at their workplace. A beloved classic and fellow Booker-shortlisted title, Penelope Fitzgerald's sublime The Bookshop tells the pitch-perfect story of a woman who awakens old rivalries and petty jealousies in a sleepy town when she deigns to open the eponymous establishment.

£9.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
As everyday objects start talking to fourteen-year-old Benny in the wake of a family bereavement, he seeks refuge in a library populated by unforgettable characters in this breathtakingly original and compassionate novel from the author of A Tale for the Time Being.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£10.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Combining pivotal contemporary events with a deliciously witty ghost story set in a Minneapolis bookshop, The Sentence is a dazzling inventive novel from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Night Watchman.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£8.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Written with Fizgerald's signature economy and wonderfully wry humour, The Bookshop is a small masterpiece of character and place, as a would-be bookseller unleashes the petty rivalries and fragile egos of a small Suffolk town.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

To conclude, we take a look at bookshop and library novels that have something of the fantastical about them. The rise in 'cottage-core' fantasy - where traditional sword-and-sorcery adventure is replaced by more wistful or romantic tropes - has led to the huge success of Travis Baldree, who followed up the winsome Legends and Lattes with the tale of a lit-loving orc Bookshops and Bonedust. The otherworldly power of books is explored poignantly by Matt Haig in the much-loved The Midnight Library, where a woman hovering between life and death finds a way to undo her past regrets, whilst the freewheeling surrealism of Robin Sloan's cult favourite Mr Penumbra's 24-hour Bookstore invokes secret societies and bizarre conspiracies centred on the unique titular book emporium.

£18.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
A bellicose orc finds unexpected adventure in the second-hand bookshops of a sleepy beach town in this impossibly charming, witty and immersive slice of whimsical fantasy from the author of Legends and Lattes.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£9.99 £7.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
From the author of How to Stop Time comes this poignant, unique novel about regret, hope and forgiveness - and a library that houses second chances.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

£9.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Perfect reading for ardent bibliophiles, Sloan’s whimsical novel introduces a very singular bookstore, an outrageous global conspiracy and a very confused nocturnal bookseller.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout


Comments

There are currently no comments.

env: aptum
branch: