Blog

Elizabeth Day's Favourite Reads of 2021

Posted on 4th November 2021 by Anna Orhanen

The popular podcaster, journalist and bestselling author of How to Fail and FailosophyElizabeth Day's latest engrossing book Magpie is a deliciously dark tale of motherhood, greed and obsession. We are delighted to have Day share her favourite books of 2021 with our readers and reveal which title she would most like for Christmas.

Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason

Made me laugh and cry and feel so profoundly seen. One of the most humanely beautiful (and hilarious) books I've ever read.

£14.99
Hardback
In stock
Available
Tackling the issue of long-term mental illness with wit and candour, Mason’s remarkable novel takes a rounded, empathetic look at the condition through the experiences of a middle-aged woman who has struggled to find contentment in her adult life.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Detransition, Baby by Torrey Peters

A comedy of manners viewed through a trans lens. Highly original, thought-provoking and funny.

£14.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Available
Navigating the complicated waters of family-making and motherhood in the twenty-first century, this exciting and very funny debut follows the lives of three trans and cis women living in New York.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Assembly by Natasha Brown

An astonishing work of concision, depth and poetry. An outrageous achievement for a debut.

£12.99 £6.49
Hardback
10+ in stock
Available
Perfect reading for fans of Raven Leilani and Jenny Offill, Brown’s incendiary debut investigates the stories we tell ourselves about race and class through the burgeoning realisations of a young Black British woman.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

The Promise by Damon Galgut

The riveting story of four deaths in one South African family, told against a backdrop of political upheaval - but what makes this novel so masterful is the prose, which leaps into different viewpoints with cinematic ease.

£16.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Available
Set during four funerals across four decades, Galgut’s panoramic study of one white South African family’s tribulations foregrounds the intimately personal in the epic narrative of a rapidly changing nation.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Piranesi by Susanna Clarke

A stunning novel of supremely original imagination. Don't be put off by the fantasy tag - this book is so much more than a single genre and has a brilliantly executed twist at the end.

£8.99 £7.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
Weaving a rich gothic atmosphere, the author of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell mines a darkly fantastical vision with a tale of a very singular house and its mysterious inhabitants.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

The book I'd most like to be given for Christmas: 

The Young H. G. Wells by Claire Tomalin

Claire Tomalin is my favourite biographer and I'm desperate to get my hands on her latest, The Young H. G. Wells. I'd be thrilled to find this under the tree on Christmas Day.

£20.00 £10.00
Hardback
10+ in stock
Available
Covering the first four decades of H.G. Wells’s life, Tomalin’s brilliantly accessible biography describes how the challenges of his early years informed the courage and vision of his pioneering writing career.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
 



Comments

There are currently no comments.