We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.


Costa Book Awards winners announced

Kate Atkinson, Chris Riddell and Michael Symmons Roberts are among the winners who will now go on to compete for the overall Costa Book of the Year prize...

Posted on 6th January 2014 by Dan Lewis Lewis

Life After LifeShortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction, Waterstones Book of the Year and named as one of the New York Times' books of the year - Kate Atkinson's Life After Life took the coveted Costa Novel of the Year award.

Twenty years after she rose to prominence when she won the overall Book of the Year prize for her début Behind The Scenes at the Museum, the judges described her latest novel as "everything you could ask for in a work of fiction and so much more.”

Nathan Filer might be set to replicate Atkinson's début success story though - since his novel The Shock of the Fall - the story of Matthew and his descent into madness as he confronts his role in the boyhood death of his older brother Simon  - saw him walk away with the First Novel Award.

Samuel Johnson Prize winner Lucy Hughes-Hallett was once again victorious - taking the Biography Award for her life of poet and fascist Gabriele D’Annunzio - The Pike.

Fresh from his Forward Poetry Prize win - Michael Symmons Roberts won his second Costa Poetry Award for his latest collection Drysalter - which the judges praised as "a memorable body of work."

Finally, author, illustrator and political cartoonist Chris Riddell won the Children’s Book Award for his "instant classic" Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse.

The judges - chaired by Rose Tremain - were praised by Costa MD Christopher Rogers for having "selected five superb books that readers of all tastes are going to really enjoy.”

The five category winners, each receive £5,000, and now compete for the Costa Book of the Year prize - which will be announced on 28th January.