• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The books you love, the emails you want
Time is running out, opt in before 25 May or you'll stop hearing from us
Yes Please

Blog

Children's Book of the Month: Beetle Boy

Posted on 1st March 2016 by Sally Campbell
Fast-paced, compelling and just a bit magical, Beetle Boy is sure to appeal to fans of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl

Our Children's Book of the Month for February has been such a roaring success we are letting it run for another month: Beetle Boy is our March Book of The Month too!

So go out into your gardens, roll over some stones and have a rummage about to see what beetle-y friends you can find but not before you read our introduction to the book:

Do you love beetles? No? Well, trust me, you will. Fast-paced, compelling and just a little bit magical, the brilliant Beetle Boy is not only packed with brave heroes, intriguing mysteries, grotesque bad guys and thrilling plot lines, it will inspire you with a fascination for every species of beetle. 

Sure to appeal to fans of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, the story is crawling (sorry) with wit . In a set-up to suit a Sherlock Holmes tale, young Darkus’s father vanishes from a locked room at the Natural History museum. With the help of his Uncle Max, and a rhinoceros beetle named Baxter, Darkus begins to investigate this mystery. Adventure, danger, thrills and chills ensue – be prepared to meet a genuinely terrifying villain in Lucretia Cutter. The finale involves a beetle army… but I won’t spoil it any further.

It would be impossible to review this book without mentioning the way it looks: Beetle Boy has a quirky blue and orange cover and fantastic, beetle-adorned page-edges. Once you finish the book, and share in the author’s fascination for all things beetle-y, you will love the design all the more.

Already receiving rave, five-star reviews, this brilliantly written, pacy adventure story for 9-12s is sure to become a modern children’s classic. In short, think: Indiana Jones meets David Attenborough.

Comments

There are currently no comments.