Blog

Children's Book of the Month: Beetle Boy

Children's Book of the Month: Beetle Boy

Fast-paced, compelling and just a bit magical, Beetle Boy is sure to appeal to fans of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl

Posted on 1st March 2016 by Sally Campbell

Our Children's Book of the Month for February has been such a roaring success we are letting it run for another month: Beetle Boy is our March Book of The Month too!

So go out into your gardens, roll over some stones and have a rummage about to see what beetle-y friends you can find but not before you read our introduction to the book:

Do you love beetles? No? Well, trust me, you will. Fast-paced, compelling and just a little bit magical, the brilliant Beetle Boy is not only packed with brave heroes, intriguing mysteries, grotesque bad guys and thrilling plot lines, it will inspire you with a fascination for every species of beetle. 

Sure to appeal to fans of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, the story is crawling (sorry) with wit . In a set-up to suit a Sherlock Holmes tale, young Darkus’s father vanishes from a locked room at the Natural History museum. With the help of his Uncle Max, and a rhinoceros beetle named Baxter, Darkus begins to investigate this mystery. Adventure, danger, thrills and chills ensue – be prepared to meet a genuinely terrifying villain in Lucretia Cutter. The finale involves a beetle army… but I won’t spoil it any further.

It would be impossible to review this book without mentioning the way it looks: Beetle Boy has a quirky blue and orange cover and fantastic, beetle-adorned page-edges. Once you finish the book, and share in the author’s fascination for all things beetle-y, you will love the design all the more.

Already receiving rave, five-star reviews, this brilliantly written, pacy adventure story for 9-12s is sure to become a modern children’s classic. In short, think: Indiana Jones meets David Attenborough.

Related books

The Bad Beginning - A Series of Unfortunate Events Bk. 1 (Paperback)

The Bad Beginning - A Series of Unfortunate Events Bk. 1 (Paperback)

Lemony Snicket




2 Reviews

The three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune and cold porridge for breakfast.

£6.99 £5.49
James and the Giant Peach (Paperback)

James and the Giant Peach (Paperback)

Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake

James Trotter is a lonely orphan boy living with his horrible guardian aunts until the day when something magical happens .....

£6.99
Beetle Boy - The Battle of the Beetles (Paperback)

Beetle Boy - The Battle of the Beetles (Paperback)

M.G. Leonard




6 Reviews

Darkus's dad has disappeared - but his new friend, a giant beetle called Baxter, is some consolation. Together, boy and beetle set out to solve the mystery of his father's disappearance. But Lucretia Cutter - a fashion designer with a penchant for beetle jewellery - is dead set against their success.

£6.99 £5.99