Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize shortlist 2014

Posted on 7th May 2014 by Dan Lewis
Wodehouse makes his own shortlist as Faulks' homage leads the charge.

Everyman Bollinger Prize

The shortlist for the fifteenth Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction is the strongest we’ve ever had." according to David Campbell, Everyman’s Library publisher.

Sebastian Faulks' take on Jeeves and Wooster, Jeeves and the Wedding Bells, has made this year's list alongside Helen Fielding's much anticipated reboot of her own Bridget Jones series, Mad About the Boy. Elsewhere, John Niven's acerbic satire Straight White Male and Edward St Aubyn's scathing Lost For Words stand in direct and darkly comic contrast to the antics of these familiar characters whilst there's an elegiac tone to both Hanif Kureishi's The Last Word and Joseph O’Connor's The Thrill of it All.

"All the books on the list are of great calibre and quality," said Campbell, "which makes the job of choosing just one of these witty, zestful novels as the winner almost impossible.”

The prize sets out to find the book, published in the last twelve months, which best captures the comic spirit of PG Wodehouse.

Howard Jacobson won last year's prize with his novel Zoo Time - and in doing so became the first author to win the prize on two occasions.

This year’s winner will be announced on Monday 19th May and will receive a jeroboam of Bollinger Special Cuvée, a case of Bollinger La Grande Année and a set of the Everyman Wodehouse collection. The winner will also receive a Gloucestershire Old Spot pig, named after their winning novel.


The shortlist

Jeeves and the Wedding Bells, Sebastian Faulks
Mad About the Boy, Helen Fielding
The Last Word
, Hanif Kureishi
Straight White MaleJohn Niven
The Thrill of it All
Joseph O’Connor
Lost For Words
Edward St Aubyn


Sign In To Respond

There are currently no comments.