We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

Sebastian Faulks

The author of Birdsong...

20/04/1953 -

Sebastian Faulks biography and information

  • Sebastian Faulks is the son of a decorated soldier, Peter Faulks, and is widely known for writing his bestselling narrative set before and during World War I, Birdsong. He has been a teacher and journalist before becoming a full time writer.

  • Faulks' first novel, A Trick of the Light, was published in 1984 and his second, The Girl at the Lion D'or, was published in 1989. In 1993 he published Birdsong and became a household name.

  • Faulks has published two novels carrying on the legacy of past writers. In 2008 he wrote a new edition to the James Bond canon in Devil May Care and his most recent book, Jeeves and the Wedding Bells is a modern pastiche of P.G. Wodehouse's Jeeves and Wooster novels.

Book and writing awards

British Book Awards Author of the Year 1994, Appointed a Commander of the Order of the British Empire "For services to Literature" in 2002 and British Book Awards Popular Fiction Award 2009 (Devil May Care).

Similar authors to Sebastian Faulks:

Joanne HarrisPat Barker 

Books by Sebastian Faulks

We're talking about...

Bringing Wodehouse to a new generation

Posted on 1st Nov, 2013 by Guest contributor

Alongside the publication this week of a brand new Jeeves and Wooster novel, Jeeves And The Wedding Bells, written as an homage to P.G. Wodehouse by Sebastian Faulks, the entire back-list has been given a new look. Jacket designer Natascha Nel tells us how she approached the job, and shares some of her favourites...