• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0

M. C. Beaton

The creator of the Agatha Raisin series of crime novels...

01/01/1936 -

M. C. Beaton biography and information

Marion Chesney was born in Glasgow in 1936 and has worked as a fiction buyer at a bookshop, a woman's fashion editor for Scottish Field, a theatre critic for the Scottish Daily Express, and a reporter for the Daily Express. She has written books under seven different names. M.C. Beaton is the pseudonym she uses to write her mystery novels about two different sleuths, the seemingly shy and quiet Hamish Macbeth and the louder, pushier Agatha Raisin.

She has also written romance novels under the names Ann Fairfax, Jennie Tremaine, Helen Crampton, Charlotte Ward and Sarah Chester. She currently divides her time between a cottage in the Cotswolds and Paris.

Similar authors to M.C. Beaton

Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie


We're talking about...

A Very British Murder Quiz

Posted on 16th Sep, 2013 by Guest contributor

Lucy Worsley marks today's anniversary of the birth of Agatha Christie with A Very British Murder quiz...