Visit our Christmas Gift Finder

Julia Golding

Author of the Cat Royal series...

Julia Golding biography and information

Julia Golding is an author who won the Waterstones Children's Book Prize with the first in her Cat Royal series, The Diamond of Drury Lane. She was also selected as one of the Waterstones 25 authors of the future.

Golding grew up on the edge of Epping Forest. After reading English at Cambridge, she joined the Foreign Office and served for Poland. Her work as a diplomat took her from the high-point of town twinning in the Tatra Mountains to the low of inspecting the bottom of a Silesian coal mine.

On leaving Poland, she exchanged diplomacy for academia and took a doctorate in the literature of the English romantic period at Oxford. She then joined Oxfam as a lobbyist on conflict issues, campaigning at the UN and with governments to lessen the impact of conflict on civilians living in war zones.

Golding lives in Oxford with her partner and three children.

Book and writing awards

2006 Waterstones Children' Book Prize, The Nestlé Children's Book Prize 2006. 2007 Waterstones 25 authors for the future.

Similar authors to Julia Golding

Mary HooperSally Gardner, and Michael Morpurgo


We're talking about...

Malorie Blackman is the new Waterstones Children's Laureate

Posted on 4th Jun, 2013

The author of the Noughts & Crosses series has been named as the successor to Julia Donaldson and the eighth Waterstones Children's Laureate.