Charlaine Harris

Author of the Sookie Stackhouse series...

25/11/1951 -

Charlaine Harris biography and information

Charlaine Harris is a New York Times bestselling author who has been writing mysteries for thirty years. Harris was born and raised in the Mississippi River Delta area of the United States. She now lives in southern Arkansas with her husband and her three children. Through her early work, largely including poems about ghosts and teenage angst, Harris began writing plays whilst she attended Rhodes College in Memphis, Tennessee. She began to write books a few years later. Harris's works are generally referred to as being in 'urban fantasy' genre. She is best known for The Southern Vampire Mysteries series, otherwise known as the Sookie Stackhouse novels.

Harris specialises in urban fantasy and mystery fiction. She has written books that centre on the supernatural and detective investigations. Her Sookie Stackhouse novels have been released in Australia, Japan, Spain, Lithuania, Hungary, Iceland and many other countries.

Many of Harris' works have also been considered for or been adapted into TV drama series. These include The Southern Vampire Mysteries (Sookie Stackhouse novels) and a drama based on her Harper Connelly Mysteries entitled Grave Sight. 2014 marked the debut of the Cemetery Girl series, a graphic novel series co-written with Christopher Golden and illustrated by Don Kramer.

Book and writing awards

Harris' Aurora Teagarden books with Real Murders were a Best Novel 1990 nomination for the Agatha Awards. The first book in the Sookie Stackhouse Novels, Dead Until Dark, won the Anthony Aware for Best Paperback Mystery in 2001.

Similar authors to Charlaine Harris

Anne Rice and Rachel Caine .


See More

Books by Charlaine Harris

The Russian Cage
Added to basket
Dead Until Dark
Added to basket
After Dead
Added to basket
Dead Ever After
Added to basket
Sleep Like a Baby
Added to basket
Added to basket
Dead in the Family
Added to basket
The Serpent in Heaven
Added to basket
Dead Reckoning
Added to basket
Night Shift
Added to basket
All the Little Liars
Added to basket
Midnight Crossroad
Added to basket
Grave Sight
Added to basket

We're talking about...

Taking Vampires Seriously - K J Wignall

Posted on 17th Mar, 2013

KJ Wignall, author of the young adult vampire series The Mercian Trilogy, looks at the problems facing any writer who wants to dodge the pitfalls of popular folklore and write fantasy which is grounded in a reality...

env: aptum