Cold Comfort Farm - Penguin Essentials (Paperback)

by Stella Gibbons

Format: Paperback 240 pages

10+ in stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

Price check

RRP £7.99


You save: £2.00

Delivered FREE
in the UK

A hilarious and merciless parody of rural melodramas and one of the best-loved comic novels of all time, "Cold Comfort Farm" by Stella Gibbons is beautifully repackaged as part of the "Penguin Essentials" range. 'We are not like other folk, maybe, but there have always been Starkadders at "Cold Comfort Farm"...' Sensible, sophisticated Flora Poste has been expensively educated to do everything but earn a living. When she is orphaned at twenty, she decides her only option is to descend on relatives - the doomed Starkadders at the aptly named Cold Comfort Farm. There is Judith in a scarlet shawl, heaving with remorse for an unspoken wickedness; raving old Ada Doom, who once saw something nasty in the woodshed; lustful Seth and despairing Reuben, Judith's two sons; and there is Amos, preaching fire and damnation to one and all. As the sukebind flowers, Flora takes each of the family in hand and brings order to their chaos. "Cold Comfort Farm" is a sharp and clever parody of the melodramatic and rural novel. "Very probably the funniest book ever written". ("Sunday Times"). "Screamingly funny and wildly subversive". (Marian Keyes, "Guardian"). "Delicious..." Cold Comfort Farm" has the sunniness of a P. G. Wodehouse and the comic aplomb of Evelyn Waugh's Scoop". ("Independent"). "One of the finest parodies written in English ...a wickedly brilliant skit". (Robert Macfarlane, "Guardian"). Stella Gibbons was born in London in 1902. She went to North London Collegiate School and studied journalism at University College, London. She then worked for ten years on various papers, including the "Evening Standard". Her first publication was a book of poems, "The Mountain Beast" (1930), and her first novel, "Cold Comfort Farm" (1932), won the Femina Vie Heureuse Prize. Amongst her other novels are "Miss Linsey and Pa" (1936), "Nightingale Wood" (1938), "Westwood" (1946), "Conference at Cold Comfort Farm" (1949) and "Beside the Pearly Water" (1954). Stella Gibbons died in 1989.

Book details


Penguin Books Ltd


Other books by this author See all titles


Customers who bought this title, also bought...

This book can be found in...

The prices displayed are for website purchases only, and may differ to the prices in Waterstones shops.