Natasha's Dance: A Cultural History of Russia (Paperback)

by Orlando Figes

Format: Paperback 768 pages

5+ in stock

Usually despatched within 24 hours

Price check

RRP £14.99


You save: £4.50

Delivered FREE
in the UK

From the award-winning author of "The Whisperers", Orlando Figes "Natasha's Dance: A Cultural History of Russia" is a dazzling history of Russia's mighty culture. Orlando Figes' enthralling, richly evocative history has been heralded as a literary masterpiece on Russia, the lives of those who have shaped its culture, and the enduring spirit of a people. "Wonderfully rich ...magnificent and compelling ...a delight to read". (Antony Beevor). "A tour de force by the great storyteller of modern Russian historians...Figes mobilizes a cast of serf harems, dynasties, politburos, libertines, filmmakers, novelists, composers, poets, tsars and tyrants ...superb, flamboyant and masterful". (Simon Sebag-Montefiore, "Financial Times"). "Awe-inspiring..."Natasha's Dance" has all the qualities of an epic tragedy". ("Mail on Sunday"). "It is so much fun to read that I hesitate to write too much, for fear of spoiling the pleasures and surprises of the book". ("Sunday Telegraph"). "Magnificent...Figes is at his exciting best". ("Guardian"). "Breathtaking...The title of this masterly history comes from War and Peace, when the aristocratic heroine, Natasha Rostova, finds herself intuitively picking up the rhythm of a peasant dance. ..One of those books that, at times, makes you wonder how you have so far managed to do without it". ("Independent on Sunday"). "Thrilling, dizzying...I would defy any reader not to be captivated". ("Literary Review"). Orlando Figes is Professor of History at Birkbeck College, University of London. He is the author of "Peasant Russia", "Civil War", "A People's Tragedy", "Natasha's Dance", "The Whisperers" and "Just Send Me Word". His books have been translated into over twenty languages.

Book details


Penguin Books Ltd


Other books by this author See all titles


Customers who bought this title, also bought...

The prices displayed are for website purchases only, and may differ to the prices in Waterstones shops.